Skip to main content

Visual Art: Journals

What is a journal?

A journal is a scholarly publication containing articles written by researchers, academics and other experts. Journals focus on a specific discipline or field of study

Print Journals

  • From the Library website click on iLink catalogue.
  • Type in the title of the journal and click on the journal tab.
  • Find the journal in the relevant section of the library.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.

HOW TO FIND A JOURNAL

Journal literature supplements the information you find in books.

Follow the guide on how to find journal literature.

Finding eJournals

  • From the Electronic resources page option on the Library Website click on e-Journals A-Z, or choose 'e-Journals' from the options on the Primo page.
  • Type in the title of the journal.
  • If the journal is available online, access details will be provided showing where the journal appears and the time coverage

Finding online journals using Databases

From the Electronic resources page option on the Library Website click on Databases A-Z or Databases by subject (Visual Arts).

For example from the Database A-Z choose the following databases:

            Art Source™covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Providing over 600 full-text journals, more than 220 full-text books, and a collection of over 63,0000 images, it is designed for use by a diverse audience, including art scholars, artists, designers, students and general researchers.

            Art Source was developed from a merger of high-quality databases from EBSCO Publishing and H.W. Wilson, and includes many unique sources that were never previously available. This database offers detailed indexing and abstracts for an international array of journals, books, podcasts and more.

                        Searching tips for EBSCO

                        EBSCO tutorial

Primo

 

To find out if we have a particular journal title on PRIMO

  • Click on ‘Find Resources’ and type in the title of the journal in the search box.
     
  •  Select ‘Journals’ from the drop down menu below the search box.
     
  • Click on the search button.
     
  • Search results will show which are available in print (Locations) and online (Online resource)
     
  • Follow the links to open the article

 

Subject Guide

Jabulile Sibisi - Mshengu's picture
Jabulile Sibisi - Mshengu
Contact:
Cecil Renaud Library, Pietermaritzburg
+27332605942
Website

What if a journal is not available at UKZN?

UKZN Library offers an Interlibrary loan (ILL) facility through which journals can be borrowed from other libraries in the country if available. Copies of journal articles may be requested and if it cannot be scanned and emailed there is a fee for this.

There is an ILL office in each library. Forms are available for filling in or email the relevant ILL office.

Inter-library loans, Pietermaritzburg

Inter-library loans, Howard College

DoHETAccreditedJournals.

All information © 2018 University of KwaZulu-Natal. All rights reserved.