Skip to main content

Information Studies: Journals

Useful books for Information Studies

Library & Information Science journals

Print and online Journals

Print and online journals

Finding journals by title

 1. Search the World Cat Local options: icatalogue;  ejournals and articles. In icatalogue, choose the Advanced Search option; type in the journal title and from 'format', choose journals/magazines. If the journal is available online, the URL will be provided.

In the ejournals/articles option, choose 'journals' from near the top of the page, type in the journal title and click search.

 2. Go to the  A -Z Journal listing and type in the title of the journal to identify full text availability for that journal. If a journal is available from more than one database, these details will be provided as well as time period of coverage.

 

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a subset of Google and is an international index to scholarly literature - articles, books, reports, theses etc. Google Scholar can only provide free access to those journals in the public domain. Where UKZN subscribes to a journal, click on the article title and you will be directed to the full text.

Periodicals/ Journals collection

What is a journal?

A journal is a scholarly publication containing articles written by researchers, academics and other experts. Journals focus on a specific discipline or field of study. Unlike newspapers and magazines, journals are intended for an academic or technical audience, not general readers. In the Cecil Renaud library the print journals are kept on the first floor in alphabetical order by title.

Online Journals are usually grouped in databases - see the databases tab

Most journal articles...

  • are peer reviewed
  • have original research
  • focus on current developments
  • written by various authors (mostly academics)
  • cite other works and have bibliographies
  • format : electronic or print

Some e journals relevant to Information Studies

South African journals

Off Campus access

You are able to access all the electronic resources in the library from wherever you are. Click  on Off Campus Access, click on a database name, enter your university username and password.

InterLibrary Loan service

Interlibrary loans (ILL) is a service which supports and enhances the University Library collections when these fail to meet the needs of the students and academics. ILLs are transactions between the libraries of institutions to facilitate access to information which extends beyond that held by any individual library, and there is usually a cost incurred.

Ask at the issue desk; send an email to ill@ukzn or click the request button in the catalogue.

What if an article is not available at UKZN?

If a needed article is not available in either print or online, contact your subject librarian who will check and then submit a request via the inter library loan system. If it is not available in South Africa, we contact our overseas agent who sources the article and the library pays for it and it is emailed to us.

All information © 2018 University of KwaZulu-Natal. All rights reserved.