Skip to main content

Information Studies: Databases

Useful books for Information Studies

Interlibrary loans

If an article you need is not available in our databases, contact your subject librarian and will will do a double check. You can submit an article request to:  ill@ukzn.ac.za. Be sure to put in FULL details of the item you want; not just a DOI or url. Include your name, department, student number etc.

Google scholar

Off campus access

Most online resources are accessible from off campus provided you authenticate yourself as a student or staff member. Click on the following off campus link to login.  Choose the 2nd option and follow the instructions.

Open access journal databases

Directory of Open Access Journals

What is a database?

Online indexes are databases of bibliographic records. These databases can be full text or abstracts.Databases cover books and other formats, but the primary reason to use an online database is to identify articles in journals and magazines. Important note: databases are either discipline specific or multidisciplinary. It is important for you as the researcher to establish which databases best suit your field of study.

Searching the databases:

  • In most databases, a simple keyword search includes the article title, the author, and assigned subject terms. It might also include the text of an abstract, content notes, and more.
  • In most databases, you can limit your search to a particular field of the record using a pull-down menu.

Some multidisciplinary databases

South African databases

Sabinet is a collection of South African publications including some South African journal collections. The two large journal collections are: Index to SA Periodicals - an index only; and SA and African Journal Archive which is a subset containign articles available full text.

Finding articles

Topic Search
Limit Your Results

Databases

EBSCOhost graphic

JSTOR

 

NB: Find Information Studies databases on  Databases for subjects

All information © 2018 University of KwaZulu-Natal. All rights reserved.