Skip to main content

School of Mathematics, Statistics and Computer Science: Databases

How to Find Books

Databases

JSTOR

EBSCOhost graphic

Standards University sidebar ad

Journal databases

A journal database is a collection of journal articles from different journals that can be searched by computer. Some journal databases also include conference papers, e-books, book chapters, reports, theses and dissertations and other types of information.

In many cases, the retrieved articles are available full-text (i.e. the entire article is available), and in some cases only the abstract is available. In this case, you will need to search if the print journal is available in the library catalogue. If the library does not subscribe to the journal you will be required to get the article from another institution by using the Inter Library Loan facility.

Some databases are multidisciplinary and cover a wide range of subjects (e.g. EbscoHost), while others are subject specific, covering a particular discipline or subject (e.g.SpringerLink). Others are limited to particular geographic areas, like Sabinet, which covers Africa, particularly sub-saharan Africa.

The following are a selection of electronic databases that are particularly helpful for Mathematics, Statistics and Computer Science :

e-Journals A-Z list

This is an alphabetical listing of all the electronic journal titles available to UKZN users. Go here when you want to read a specific journal online, or when you want to check online availability.

Open access journal databases

Directory of Open Access Journals

All information © 2018 University of KwaZulu-Natal. All rights reserved.