Skip to main content

History: Journals

What is a journal?

A journal is a scholarly publication containing articles written by researchers, professors and other experts. Journals focus on a specific discipline or field of study.

Journals in other libraries

The iCatalogue will now give you an ILL request option for journals not available at UKZN. Libraries containing the journal may also be listed at the end of the 'check availability' options on a catalogue record. SACat on Sabinet contains information about journals in other South African libraries as well. The holding libraries for each publication are listed. .

Inter-Library Loans

UKZN Library offers an Interlibrary loan (ILL) facility through which copies of journal articles may also be requested.  If it cannot be scanned and emailed there is a fee for this.

For more information please consult the ILL webpage.

Articles published by UKZN researchers

ResearchSpace, the institutional repository of the University of KwaZulu-Natal houses the research of UKZN academics.

Open Access Journals


Open Access (OA) is the practice of providing unrestricted access via the internet to peer reviewed scholarly journal articles.
 
 
Click the following links:

Scholarly journals

Scholarly or academic journals are important resources of academic research information for assignment writing as they contain up-to-date, specific and often in-depth information. Like newspapers and magazines, journals are also called periodicals or serials. Journals can be in print, online or both.


 

Scholarly journals contain articles that have been critiqued by scholars/experts in the same field to ensure particular academic standards have been met.
 
 Most journal articles ...
  • are peer reviewed           
  • have original research
  • focus on current developments
  • cite other works and have bibliographies

The best and most efficient way of finding articles in peer-reviewed journals is to search the online databases (see the tab above). Here, by doing an advanced search, you can often limit the search to "peer-reviewed articles only" or "scholarly articles only".

The online databases can be found on the Databases A - Z list

You can also use Google Scholar Logoto access full text journal articles for which UKZN Library pays subscription fees. Click on the UKZN eText link or the title of the article in order to find the full text of the journal article.

Inter library loan

If you are a postgraduate student or staff member, if a required article is not available via UKZN, you may request the library purchase a copy. You can do this in two ways:

1. Consult your subject librarian

2. Send an email to ill@ukzn.ac.za. Please make sure you type in the full details about the article, don't copy and paste or just provide a doi.

 

Print journals

Use the http://library.ukzn.ac.za/Homepage.aspx icatalogue tab to search for print journal titles:

a) type in the journal title and if the result you want is not near the beginning of the results list, refine by format (journal) from the left hand column options

b) click on 'advanced search' and in the screen fill in the journal title as a 'title' from the menu options and choose the format from the drop down list (journal / magazine).

eJournals

  • From the Electronic resources page option on the Library Website click on e-Journals A-Z, or choose 'e-Journals' from the World Cat Local options in the middle of the page.
  • Type in the title of the journal.
  • If the journal is available online, access details will be provided showing where the journal appears and the time coverage.

Useful journal links

Newspapers

 


SA Media and SAPA on Sabinet provides scanned newspaper articles from a wide range of South African newspapers and the Newspaper gateway provide access to a useful range of newspapers from around the world. Iolnews is a useful online source of South African news. See also the UKZN Library's newspaper page.
 
You can also read the daily papers and search their archives by clicking on the following links:
All information © 2018 University of KwaZulu-Natal. All rights reserved.