Skip to main content

History: Research Support

Research methodology books

Books on research methodology : 001.45 and 300.7...

Key texts are often kept in Academic Reserves


Some key methodology books in print in the UKZN libraries are:

Online research methodology journals

Use a search strategy

This is a plan that helps you to retrieve information which is relevant to your research. To prepare a strategy follow these steps:

1. Define your topic by thinking critically about the information you need and should look for.

2. Identify the key concepts and subtopics of your topic.

3. Identify search terms using your key concepts ie. terms that you will use  when searching the relevant resources. Use the Boolean operators AND, OR, and NOT to make your search more specific eg. History AND South Africa.

4. Identify search limits - limit your search to a specific time period. Decide on the material type eg. journal articles or books. Choose the appropriate database for the type of material you require eg.  ISAP for South African journal articles or Academic Search Complete for international articles.

5. Search the databases you have selected for information. Use the links to access full text articles. Remember the multidisciplinary databases are also helpful.

6. Manage your references and citations by noting down the bibliographic details of the sources of information you use. Consider using a bibliographic management tool like RefWorks or EndNote.

Existing theses are useful for structure, methodology and references.

Click on the Theses / Dissertations tab above for a useful list of theses databases. Below is the link to ResearchSpace, the UKZN online thesis site.

Aspects of thesis writing

The Writing Place

The Writing Place (WP) provides one-on-one academic writing tutoring to students (undergrad-Masters) at the Drop-in Centre.

Need help with academic writing? Visit one of the following WP locations and book a free consultation with a tutor who will help and guide you through the academic writing process.

Westville Campus
Suite J012 (J-Block)


Howard College
EG Malherbe library, 1st Floor, Reserve book room

PMB Campus
Office B4, Old Main building basement

Click the following links:

UKZN Research Office

Research Commons

The Research Commons is a dedicated space for postgraduate students at masters and doctoral level as well as researchers and academic staff at the University of KwaZulu-Natal.
 
Where do I find it?
The first UKZN Research Commons is situated on the Ground Floor of E.G. Malherbe Library, Howard College Campus in Durban and is accessed by swipe card. This glass partitioned room offers access to 18 state-of-the-art computers, wireless connectivity for laptop computers and one-on-one consultations with skilled research librarians.
 
Other UKZN Libraries Research Commons are at Edminson Library, Edgewood Campus and the Main Library, in Westville Campus. Pietermaritzburg Research Commons is now open and situated on the lower ground floor of the main library. Students will need to get a signed form from Themba Nkuna, Office 6, ground floor, to take to RMS in order for access to be granted.

Reference sources

Reference sources such as dictionaries, encyclopedias, etc. are research tools that provide background information and answers to specific questions or direct you to additional information sources.

      Some examples:
All information © 2018 University of KwaZulu-Natal. All rights reserved.