Skip to main content
Links to other repositories
OpenDOAR is an authoritative directory of academic open access repositories. As well as providing a simple repository list, OpenDOAR lets you search for repositories or search repository contents.
New CCMS theses @ UKZN
Marriage in contemporary Zulu society : implications for couple counselling.
Most Western therapeutic methods are based on the Western world view and are very individualistic, and may therefore not be appropriate for social work practice with African clients. This study focused specifically on marriage counselling. It aimed to explore the meaning of marriage among Zulu couples, elders and social workers with a view to recommending guidelines for marriage therapy with Zulu clients. The research study was qualitative in nature and was guided by social construction theory. In social construction theory the social practices that people engage in to interact with each other influence the meaning that is ascribed, and how the world is viewed and understood. Thus social interaction within any culture determines how a person perceives reality, and this influences one’s world view. As a result people with different world views will have a very different of understanding. The study explored the beliefs, values, traditions and practices of marriage in contemporary Zulu
Narrative comparison and popular appeal of South African television drama series : a textual analysis of Yizo Yizo and InterSexions
This a textual analysis studies of narrative which examines the narrative structure and functions of two South African television drama series: Yizo Yizo and InterSexions. Both Yizo Yizo and InterSexions are part of the edutainment programmes designed by SABC in partnership with the South African Department of Education. The study’s main focus is to analyse and compare the narrative structure of both series in terms of characters formation and development; the means in which the meaning was create. The study used a qualitative approach as the method for data collection. Thematic analysis was employed for analysing the primary data gathered from viewing both dramas. The study was mainly informed by two narrative theories: Propp’s narrative theory and Levi-Straus’ structural theory. These theories explain the process in which a narrative structure is formed. The primary data was analysed with the desktop and library data which serve as the secondary data. These two drama shows have
Databases for theses
Current and completed research
Covers South African research projects in various disciplines including masters and doctoral theses of SA universities and technikons as well as information on research projects from NGOs, the private sector and government departments. All non-English titles of projects are translated into English. Abstracts are included for completed projects from 1988 onwards. The Nexus Database System Division of the National Research Foundation maintains this database.
The following links will direct you to databases of theses / dissertations. In most cases they are not available full text. If found in South Africa, they are sometimes available via interlibrary loans.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I
A comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day. You will be able to view the first 24 pages of each thesis found here.
Nexus - Current and Completed Research Projects
Although this database is searchable via Current and Completed Research as above, you may go directly to the the Nexus database.This database provides information on approximately 150 000 South African current and completed research projects including theses and dissertations. This source now provides information on all fields of science since 1919. The records of the Union Catalogue of Theses and Dissertations (UCTD) formerly maintained by the Potchefstroom University for CHE are now included. The NAVTECH research projects are included in the database. It also includes abstracts and English titles are given for projects not in English.
Finding UKZN theses
Another way of finding theses is to do a search on the library catalogue (OPAC). Theses that have been digitised will have a URL icon - click on this and you will be directed to the full text of the item.
ResearchSpace is the online repository of the University of KwaZulu-Natal. It houses the full text of all new theses issued by the university. In addition, the library is at present involved in a project to digitise all past theses from the university, so many of these are also available full text .
You can go directly to ResearchSpace to search theses by author, title or subject.
If you are accessing ResearchSpace from off campus, it is best to use Firefox.
All information © 2018 University of KwaZulu-Natal. All rights reserved.