Skip to main content

Religious Studies and Theology: Databases

Guide to information in the library

Journal databases

A journal database is a collection of online journal articles from different journals and for multiple years, that can be searched by keyword, author, title etc. Some journal databases also include conference papers, e-books, book chapters, reports, theses and dissertations and other types of information.

In many cases, the retrieved articles are available full-text (i.e. the entire article is available), and in some cases only the abstract is available. In this case, you will need to search to see if the print journal is available in the library catalogue. If the library does not subscribe to the journal you will need to see if you can get the article from another institution by using the Inter Library Loan facility.

Some databases are multidisciplinary and cover a wide range of subjects (e.g. EbscoHost: Academic Search Complete), while others are subject specific, covering a particular discipline or subject (e.g.Project Muse). Others are limited to particular geographic areas, like Sabinet, which covers Africa, particularly sub-saharan Africa.

The following are a selection of electronic databases that are particularly helpful for Religious Studies and Theology :

Searching multiple databases

Click on the hyperlinks below  to search many databases at one time.

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and  sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar links up with the database subscriptions of the university to enable you to gain full-text access if it is available.

Off campus access

You are able to access all the electronic resources in the library from wherever you are. Click  on Off Campus Access, enter your username and password and the full list of electronic links will be available to you.

eJournals A-Z list

This is an alphabetical listing of all the electronic journal titles available to UKZN users. Go here when you want to read a specific journal online, or when you want to check online access / availability.

Open access journal databases

Directory of Open Access Journals

Databases

EBSCOhost graphic

JSTOR

All information © 2018 University of KwaZulu-Natal. All rights reserved.