Skip to main content

Literary and Language Studies: Journals

Guide to information sources

Newspapers

The Library subscribes to Literary Newspapers (In Pmb, all are arranged aphabetically by title):

  1. TLS : the Times literary supplement  - Dbn: J 809 T4
  2. London review of books - Dbn: J 028.1 L6
  3. New York review of books - Dbn J 028.1 N2
  4. Women's review of books - Pmb only


Search databases for newspaper articles only by clicking on the following links:

  • Newspaper Source on EbscoHost (a selection of international newspapers)
  • SA News on Sabinet (South African newspapers)

or

Read the daily papers and search their archives by clicking on the following links:

Scholarly journals

Scholarly or academic journals are important resources of doing academic research and assignment writing as they contain up-to-date, specific and often in-depth information. It is even better to use peer-reviewed journals for research. These journals contain articles that have been critiqued by scholars/experts in the same field to ensure that they reflect solid scholarship and high academic standards.

While the UKZN libraries still receive many journals in printed form, the best and most efficient way of finding articles in peer-reviewed journals is to search the online databases (click on the Databases tab above for more information). Here, by doing an advanced search, you can often limit the search to "peer-reviewed articles only" or "scholarly articles only".

The online databases can be found on the Databases A - Z list. Click on the Databases tab above for more information and a list of useful databases.

Issues of journals are published at regular intervals and often have numbers which form part of an annual volume number. Each issue has the same title. Most journals are subject specific.

                

Some journals useful for Literary Studies

In the Cecil Renaud Library, Pietermaritzburg, print journals are arranged in alphabetical order according to title. In the E.G. Malherbe Library, Durban they are arranged according to Dewey Decimal Classification.

eJournals A-Z list

This is an alphabetical listing of all the electronic journal titles available to UKZN users. Go here when you want to read a specific journal online, or when you want to check availability.

Articles published by UKZN researchers

ResearchSpace, the institutional repository of the University of KwaZulu-Natal houses the research of UKZN academics.

Useful journal links

Google Scholar

It is useful to search for journal articles here as Google has links to the databases subscribed to by the library.

All information © 2018 University of KwaZulu-Natal. All rights reserved.