Skip to main content

Philosophy: Journals

What is a journal?

A journal is a scholarly publication containing articles written by researchers, academics and other experts in the field of study. Unlike newspapers and magazines, journals are intended for an academic or technical audience, not general readers. They are published on a regular basis (monthly, quarterly, etc.) and are sequentially numbered. Each copy is an issue; a set of issues makes a volume (usually, each year is a separate volume)

Newspapers

 

Newspapers may be a useful source of information. UKZN Library subscribes to a number of newspaper websites and newspaper databases.

SA News on Sabinet provides scanned newspaper articles from a wide range of South African newspapers and the Newspaper gateway provides access to a useful range of newspapers from around the world. Iolnews is a useful online source of South African news. See also the UKZN Library's newspaper page.
 
You can also read the daily papers and search their archives by clicking on the following links:

Inter-Libary Loans

UKZN Library offers an Interlibrary loan (ILL) facility through which copies of journal articles may also be requested.  If it cannot be scanned and emailed there is a fee for this.

For more information please consult the following ILL guides:

Open Access


Open Access (OA) is the practice of providing unrestricted access via the internet to peer reviewed scholarly journal articles.
 
 
Click the following links:

Scholarly Journals

Scholarly or academic journals are important resources of academic research for assignment writing as they contain up-to-date, specific and often in-depth information. Like newspapers and magazines, journals are also called periodicals or serials. Journals can be in print, online or both.

Some examples:
 
  Ethics  Mind   Cover image for Vol. 44 Issue 5

Scholarly journals contain articles that have been critiqued by scholars/experts in the same field to ensure particular academic standards have been met.
 
Most journal articles ...
  • are peer reviewed           
  • have original research
  • focus on current developments
  • cite other works and have bibliographies

The best and most efficient way of finding articles in peer-reviewed journals is to search the online databases (see the tabe above). Here, by doing an advanced search, you can often limit the search to "peer-reviewed articles only" or "scholarly articles only".

The online databases can be found on the Databases A - Z list

You can also use Google Scholar Logoto access full text journal articles for which UKZN Library pays subscription fees. Click on the UKZN eText link or the title of the article in order to find the full text of the journal article.

Key journals for Philosophy

In the Cecil Renaud Library, Pietermaritzburg, print journals are housed on the first floor and are arranged alphabetically according to title.

In the E.G. Malherbe Library in Durban, journals are arranged according to the Dewey Decimal Classification numbering scheme with the prefix J. 

Many of the journals listed below are available in print as well as online. In many cases, print has been terminated in favour of online subscriptions.

Print journals

Use the iCatalogue to search for print journal titles:

  • From the Library website click on icatalogue.

  • Type in the title of the journal and click on the blue journal tab.

  • From the details provided, identify in which library and the relevant section of the library the journal may be found in.

e-Journals A-Z list

This is an alphabetical listing of all the electronic journal titles available to UKZN registered students and staff only.

Go to e-Journals A-Z when you want to read a specific journal online, or when you want to check availability.

Google scholar

 Google Scholar is a subset of the more scholarly literature on Google. However, Google does not possess rights to make full text available in many instances. Where full text is available via UKZN databases, a clickable link will be provided.

Journals in other libraries

SACat contains information about journals in other South African libraries. The holding libraries for each publication are listed. Inter library loan requests can be made direct from this database but first you will need to obtain your own unique pin number from the InterLibrary Loans Dept.

Useful journal links

All information © 2018 University of KwaZulu-Natal. All rights reserved.