Skip to main content

Sociology and Social Policy: Databases

Database tips

When you are off campus, complete access to all database contents will only possible by first authenticating yourself using your UKZN lan username and password.  If you omit to follow this step, you may experience problems and will be unable to retrieve full-text articles and comprehensive details. Click on the off-campus link above to access electronic searching off-campus.

 This icon on the page of the A-Z list of databases will help you determine the content of each database.  This will in turn assist you in selecting the database that is most appropriate for you research needs.

These are databases that the library intends to buy.  However, before we purchase we are offered a trial period to assess the suitability of the content for research purposes.  You may access these databases and comment and assess them thus helping us to decide whether to purchase the respective database.

Here you will be able to access other national and international institutions theses collections.  If you are unable to access the full-text item kindly contact the Inter-Library Loan department and they will assist you in sourcing the item.

What is a database?

Databases contain references to journal articles, chapters in books and in some cases, theses and dissertations. Some databases also include the full text of the articles and other items. Access to these databases is paid for by the Library.  Important note:  databases are either discipline specific or multidisciplinary.  It is important for you as the researcher to establish which databases best suit your field of study.

Searching EbscoHost

Research databases

Trial databases

Suggested databases for Sociology

Click on the icons below to access the listed databases

Looking for South African journals?

Sabinet provides access to a range of South African publications: journals, theses and more.

There are two key journal indexes:

  • SA and African Electronic journals (SA epublications) - a collection of journals that provide full text
  • Index to SA Periodicals (ISAP) - an index to all SA journals, no full text.

      

All information © 2018 University of KwaZulu-Natal. All rights reserved.