Skip to main content

Obstetrics and Gynaecology: Journals

What is a journal?

A journal is a scholarly publication containing articles written by researchers, academics and other experts. Journals focus on a specific discipline or field of study.

Print journals

  • From the Library website click on iLink catalogue.
  • Type in the title of the journal and click on the blue journal tab.
  • Identify the library in which the journal is kept.
  • Find the journal in the relevant section of the library.

Photocopy facilities are available in all libraries. You will need to put money onto your student card to operate a photocopy machine.

South African journals

The Sabinet database provides two main collections of South African journals: an index to articles in all South African journal articles called Index to SA Periodicals, and SA and African electronic journals whcih provides full text access to a subset of these journals.

At the main Sabinet page, click on the 'Search' tab for a drop down list of the collections.

Google Scholar

Many academic journals are not freely available on Google. Google Scholar is a subset of Google that indexes the more scholarly literature: articles, books, reports, theses and books. Articlesa re not necessarily free, but where UKZN pays for access, clicking on the article title will take you to the full text.

Open Access

 Open Access

 

Open Access (OA) is the practice of providing unrestricted access via the internet to peer reviewed scholarly journal articles.

(Add / Edit Text 
  
)
All information © 2018 University of KwaZulu-Natal. All rights reserved.