Skip to main content

Music Guide: Books

Latest print books

 

New books

 

 

About the book collection (print & electronic)

UKZN Libraries have an extensive collection of print and electronic books. You may borrow items from the print collection using your student or staff card.  Electronic books are accessible via the 'Electronic Resources' tab on the library webpage.

BELOW IS A LISTING OF THE VARIOUS CATEGORIES OF THE BOOK COLLECTION

  • Academic Reserves : Prescribed and recommended books:

Most recent South African texts and copies of prescribed and recommended books are usually kept in Academic Reserves (at the issue desk).  Academic Reserves materials may not be taken out of the library and can be used for a 2 hour period which can be renewed if the item is not in demand by soemone else. 

  • General book collection

The general book stock is arranged on the open shelves in Dewey (number) order. Music books can be found at 780. You may confirm your borrowing privileges by checking on the library webpage, under the 'general information' tab.

The 'Advanced Search' option under the iCatalogue on the Library's website may be used to track the location and availability of an item.

  • Reference collection : Dictionaries and encyclopedias etc.

Discipline specific dictionaries and encyclopedias and other reference works are available in the library. This material is to be used only in the library and is not loanable.

  • eBooks

The eBook collection is currently being developed to supplement and enhance the print collection.  eBooks also facilitate greater access to more library users.  Importantly access to the eBook collections can be obtained from the library webpage under the 'Electronic resources' tab. However, when you need to access any eBook and you are off-campus, you need to authenticate yourself as a user by logging in from the OFF-CAMPUS  page.  You will then be able to retrieve all eBooks available on the various databases.

  • Theses and dissertations

Print and electronic copies of UKZN theses are available. Electronic versions of theses can be accessed from the ResearchSpace platform. This is UKZN Library's repository of all submitted theses and dissertations.  For more information, please click on the Theses and Dissertations tab at the top of this page. All theses are listed in the iCatalogue.

UKZN iCatalogue

Local Search Box Iframe

Renew your books online

Simply click on the link below and follow the instructions to renew your books online.

Latest eBook titles

 

Guide to using the icatalogue

Inter library loans

If a needed book is not available at your campus or anywhere at UKZN, visit the Inter Library Loans office at your campus library to see if you can borrow a copy from another library.

All information © 2018 University of KwaZulu-Natal. All rights reserved.