Skip to main content

Social Science Education: Databases

What is a database?

Databases are collections of references to journal articles, chapters in books, book reviews, conference proceesdings, reports and in some cases, theses and dissertations. Many databases include the full text of journal articles. Access to these databases is paid for by the university. 

Databases A-Z provides links to all of UKZN's subscription databases.The databases have also been arranged by subject on the Databases for subjects page (see Education and Multidisciplinary databases).

Multidisciplinary databases

The list below is a selection of multidisciplinary databases and publishers sites which contain topics on Education. In order to access the full list of subscribed databases, go to Databases A-Z.

2016 SUBSCRIPTION TO DATABASES

Below is a link to a list of all databases that UKZN Library is currently subscribed to for 2016

EBSCOHost

Topic Search
Limit Your Results

A selection of Education databases

The databases below contain articles, book reviews, conference proceedings and reports in Education. They contain both international and South African articles.  Some articles are fulltext. 

ERIC (via EbscoHost): This database, belonging to the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to more than 1,2 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education literature and resources. If available, links to full text are included. 

EDUCATION SOURCE (via EbscoHost)This database is designed to meet the needs of education students, professionals and policy makers. The collection includes full text for more than 1,700 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers, and citations for over 4 million articles including book reviews. Coverage in Education Source spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and also includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.  

MATHEDUC: (Mathematics Education Database) The Mathematics Education Didactics bibliographic database contains citations of the fields of mathematics education and computer science education from primary to tertiary education and covers research in mathematics education; mathematics instruction from elementary school to university teaching and adult education; elementary mathematics and its applications; recreational and popular mathematics; mathematical games; basic pedagogical and psychological issues for education in mathematics and science; computer science education and information technology.

MATHSCINET: A comprehensive database covering the world's mathematical literature since 1940. It provides web access to the bibliographic data and reviews of mathematical research literature contained in Mathematical Reviews.

South African databases

Sabinet Online is a multi-disciplinary South African database which provides references, and full text articles in some cases, to South African and African journals.

There are two journal collections:

ISAP (from 1987) which provides only references and abstracts, and

SA ePublications (from 2000) which contains full text articles.

Click here for a Sabinet Quick Search Guide

All information © 2018 University of KwaZulu-Natal. All rights reserved.