Skip to main content

Education, Development, Leadership and Management: Journals

What is a journal

A journal or periodical is a scholarly publication containing articles written by researchers, academics, practitioners and other experts. Journals usually focus on a specific discipline or field of study. Articles in journals often deal with very specific aspects of topics. If you want a broad overview of your topic, start with a text book. Journals are like magazines: different issues or parts are published at regular intervals and each has the same title. Often each part has a number and all the parts for a year have a volume number. Usually several authors write articles per issue.

  

  

Not all journals or articles are available full text online. There are various ways to access online journals - see the centre column of this page or click on the Databases tab.

Newspapers are also periodicals although generally not scholarly but may be a useful source of information. Most newspapers have online versions. SA Media on Sabinet provides scanned newspaper articles from a wide range of South African newspapers going back several decades and the Newspaper gateway provides access to a useful range of newspapers from around the world. Iolnews is a useful online source of South African news. See also the UKZN Library's newspaper page.

OBTAINING JOURNAL ARTICLES NOT FOUND AT UKZN

If you are experiencing problems accessing journal articles that are not found in the UKZN Library's iCatalogue, please click on the link below.

This simple step-by-step guide will assist you obtaining the respective article.

Google Scholar

Find full text journal articles in Education journals

SABINET Online provides access to South African journal articles in ALL subject areas, including education journals.

Click on SABINET and select  Journal Articles to search two journal collections ISAP (just an index 1987+) and SA ePublications (full text since 2001).  ISAP and SA ePublications contain South African journal titles in Education and other disciplines

A selection of South African journal titles

AMESA

Journal of Education

Perspectives in Education

Pythagoras

SA Journal of Chemistry

South African Geographical Journal = Suid-Afrikaanse Geografiese

South African Historical Journal

South African Journal for Research in Sport, Physical Education and Recreation =

South African Journal of Business Management

South African Journal of Economic and Management Sciences 

South African Journal of Education

South African Journal of Higher Education

South African Journal of Philosophy = Suid-Afrikaanse Tydskrif vir Wysbegeerte

South African Journal of Sports Medicine

South African Math Foundation

Veld and Flora

Finding e-Journals and articles

Most academic journals are not freely available online. Libraries pay for subscriptions to journals, and for access to collections (databases) of articles compiled by vendors.These collections may be subject-specific or multidisciplinary.

There are different ways to search for journals and journal articles:

1. Search an academic database by topic, author or journal title. Click on the Databases tab at the top of this page for more information and a list of databases.

OR

from the toolbar on the UKZN Library homepage, under Electronic Resources, select Databases A-Z  and choose the required option.

2. Search the E-Journals A-Z page for a particular journal and / or article where details are known.

For an overall list of South African and international  Education e-journals , go to the E-Journal A-Z  page and choose the option 'Category'  and then 'Arts and Humanities'  and then 'Education and Careers' from the scroll down list.

3. Search GoogleScholar. GoogleScholar can only provide free access to articles if UKZN pays for access to the journal. Click on the article title to get to the full text.

Print Journals

  • From the Library website click on iCatalogue.
  • Type in the title of the journal and click search.
  • Find the journal in the relevant section of the library.

(Add / Edit Text 

  

Edgewood Library Journals list

All information © 2018 University of KwaZulu-Natal. All rights reserved.