Skip to main content

Economic History and Development Studies: Journals

eJournals A-Z list

This is an alphabetical listing of all the electronic journal titles available to UKZN users. Go here when you want to read a specific journal online, or when you want to check availability.

Newspapers

Search databases for newspaper articles only by clicking on the following links:

  • Newspaper Source on EbscoHost (a selection of international newspapers)
  • SA News on Sabinet (South African newspapers)

or

Read the daily papers and search their archives by clicking on the following links:

Scholarly journals

Scholarly or academic journals are important resources of academic research and assignment writing as they contain up-to-date, specific and often in-depth information. It is even better to use peer-reviewed journals for research. These journals contain articles that have been critiqued by scholars/experts in the same field to ensure that they reflect solid scholarship and high academic standards.

The best and most efficient way of finding articles in peer-reviewed journals is to search the online databases. Here, by doing an advanced search, you can often limit the search to "peer-reviewed articles only" or "scholarly articles only".

The online databases can be found on the Databases A - Z list

Key journals for Economic History and Development studies

Many of the journals listed below have print as well as online versions. In many cases, print has been terminated in favour of online subscriptions. To check for print locations and shelf numbers, go to the icatalogue. In the Cecil Renaud Library, Pietermaritzburg, print journals are arranged alphabetically according to title. In the E.G. Malherbe Library, Durban they are arranged according to Dewey Decimal Classification.

Image result for food culture and societyImage result for journal of ecology and food nutrition

Subject based journal collections on Sabient online

Articles published by UKZN researchers

ResearchSpace, the institutional repository of the University of KwaZulu-Natal houses the research of UKZN academics. ResearchSpace mainly provides access to theses but the article collection is steadily growing.

Google Scholar

All information © 2018 University of KwaZulu-Natal. All rights reserved.