Skip to main content
What is a database
Databases contain references to journal articles, chapters in books and in some cases, theses and dissertations. Some databases also include the full text of the articles and other items.
Databases A-Z list
This is an alphabetical listing of all the electronic databases available to UKZN users. Find the database you want and search for the information that you are looking for.
Databases for subjects
Databases are arranged according to subjects. Click on "M" and look for Medicine, Health Sciences and Nursing, then you will find a list of databases that are relevant to Public Health. Open a database that you want and search.
Finding electronic databases
The UKZN subscribes to a number of databases that provides its members with access to a collection of journal articles from different journals that can be searched by computer. Some journal databases also include conference papers, e-books, book chapters, reports, theses and dissertations and other types of information.
You will either find articles in full-text (i.e. the entire article is available), or you will find just an abstract but you can search the library catalogue to check if the library does have a journal in print version. If not, then you can get the article from another institution by using the Inter Library Loan facility.
Some recommended databases for public health
An international multidisciplinary database. Search the following indexes for Nursing:
-Academic Search Complete
Offers comprehensive, full-text medical information. Please note that new members need to register in order to access this database.
-Academic Research Library: covers a wide range of academic subjects, from 1971 onwards.
-Health Module: provides resources on health subjects such as medical conditions, substance abuse, insurance, health policy, and more.
An interdisciplinary database focusing mostly on South Africa but does include some African information. Search the following indexes:
-SA ePublications: Provides full-text articles from South African journals since 2001.
-ISAP (Index to South African Periodicals): Provides articles from South African journals since 1987 (not full-text).
A full-text database covering authoritative titles from core scientific literature. Choose the Subject: Nursing & Health professions.
Web of Knowledge
Provides literature from 1950 to the present. The U.S. National Library of Medicine premier life sciences database.
Comprises of more than 20 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals and online books. Links to full-text content are sometimes included.
LWW Journals @ OVID
This database is an aggregate of hundreds of scientific, technical, and medical journals from over 50 publishers and societies.
Off campus access
You can have access to the UKZN electronic resources even if you are not on campus. Click on Off Campus Access, enter your username and password and the full list of electronic links will be available to you.
Google Scholar searches more than one database at a time.
WorldCat searches all databases at a time. Searchable resources include e-journals, e-books, print and multi-media resources listed in the library's catalogue, the institutional repository and databases.
How to analyse your topic
Tips on how to find the right information for your topic
All information © 2018 University of KwaZulu-Natal. All rights reserved.