Skip to main content
What is a Journal
A journal is a scholarly publication containing articles written by researchers, professors and other experts in the field.
Provides South African newspaper clippings
Click the links below to search for newspaper articles:
Open Access (OA) is the practice of providing unristricted access via the internet to peer reviewed scholarly journal articles.
Finding Electronic Journals
Scholarly or academic journals contain up-to-date, specific and often in-depth information. It is even better to use peer-reviewed journals for research. The peer-reviewed journal articles have been critiqued by scholars/experts in the same field to ensure that they reflect solid scholarship and high academic standards.
eJournal A-Z List
Search for journal titles available in UKZN
Medicine, Health Sciences and Nursing
Databases arranged according to Subjects, scroll down to Medicine.
Databases A-Z list
a full list of UKZN subscribed databases arranged alphabetically by name. Some of the databases provides free access to the content. Search databases for journal articles and citations by using the Alphabetical list below or the Subject
Find Print Journals
Remember we also have print journal articles. Find them by searching WorldCat local catalogue.
Find journal articles using Google Scholar
Find journal articles using WorldCat
WorldCat searches all databases at a time. Searchable resources include e-journals, e-books, print and multi-media resources listed in the library's catalogue, the institutional repository and databases.
Some Recommended Databases for Nursing
An international multidisciplinary database. Search the following indexes for Nursing:
-Academic Search Complete
-Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Offers comprehensive, full-text medical information. Please note that new members need to register in order to access this database.
-Academic Research Library: covers a wide range of academic subjects, from 1971 onwards.
-Health Module: provides resources on health subjects such as medical conditions, substance abuse, insurance, health policy, and more.
An interdisciplinary database focusing mostly on South Africa but does include some African information. Search the following indexes:
-SA ePublications: Provides full-text articles from South African journals since 2001.
-ISAP (Index to South African Periodicals): Provides articles from South African journals since 1987 (not full-text).
A full-text database covering authoritative titles from core scientific literature. Choose the Subject: Nursing & Health professions.
The largest abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. There are some links to full text. It is an excellent database for physiology.
It also covers health sciences, pharmacology, toxicology and pharmaceutics.
Web of Knowledge
Provides access to the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions
All information © 2018 University of KwaZulu-Natal. All rights reserved.