Dear Collegues
Please be informed that many library users have reported that they were experiencing difficulties accessing LexisNexis. We have then opted to migrate to the self-registration process to resolve the problem. LexisNexis users may commence with the self registration process to access the LexisNexis site. Please note that you have to use a UKZN staff or student email address
How to Register as a user? Kindly use the below link.
https://www.mylexisnexis.co.za
PRIMARY SOURCE DATABASES
SOUTH AFRICA
Juta - for cases and statutes. Juta publishes the SA Law Reports and SA Criminal Reports and Juta's Unreported Judgments
LexisNexis South Africa - for cases and statutes. Lexis publishes the All SA Law Reports; Constitutional Law Reports and all the labour law reports; Judgements Online; SA Tax Cases Reports as well as providing access to the All England Law Reports. Lexis also provides full text access to the Government Gazette since 1910.
Sabinet Legal - provides access to the most recent versions of acts in force. - find it in the drop down menu under All Content
Sabinet Legal - government gazettes: 1910 - 1993; 1994 +
SAFLII - the Southern African Legal Information Institute whose aim is to promote free access to primary source information, has a website from which you can access a wide range of law reports, some statutes and other information, as well as a wide range of links to useful departments, organisations etc within Southern Africa
South African Government Online - pdf versions of acts as well as bills post 1996, parliamentary documents and others
Parliamentary Monitoring Group - Bills, debates, MP questions and more
INTERNATIONAL
HeinOnline - Canada Supreme Court Reports; English Reports; US Statutes at Large; United States Code
Westlaw - cases and statutes etc for Canada, USA, EU, UK, Australia, Hong Kong, Korea and others
World Legal Information Institute - free access to over 120 countries for cases and statutes
International Court of Justice
African Court on Human and People's Rights
Databases contain collections of references to journal articles, chapters in books, law reports and statutes and in some cases, theses and dissertations for multiple years. Some databases also include the full text of the articles and other items. Access to these databases is paid for by the Library.
SECONDARY SOURCE DATABASES (journals, books, theses and dissertations etc)
SOUTH AFRICA
SABINET has a new look and all its products are now in one place. Scroll down under the 'All Content' option and for JOURNALS choose Sabinet African Journals which is the online full text collection of SA journals, including some law journals.
There is another journal collection called ISAP or 'Index to South African Periodicals' which is an index only (1987 - present time). Scroll down under 'All content' to the category South African citations and it is one of the options there.
Heinonline is an international database but contains full text articles for about 15 South African journals. For a basic guide about Heinonline and how to search it see the link below.
INTERNATIONAL
HeinOnline provides full text access to a wide range of international journal articles, although predominantly American. Hein's focus is making available full text articles starting with the earliest articles so the most recent articles may not be available full text. There is a guide below or click here
Lloyds Law Reports is for maritime law cases. NOTE: when you get to the main page, 14 publications are listed - UKZN only has a subscription to Lloyds Law Reports.
Taylor and Francis provides some full text access to a wide range of journals in different disciplines. Access can be via T & F directly or via the icatalogue. The SA Journal on Human Rights is now only available on T & F.
Westlaw provides access to a wide range of journals, largely American. Most are full text.
Google Scholar is an excellent way of tracing articles. You can access those items that are free online as well as those items UKZN pays for access to.
THESES Click on the Theses and Dissertations tab on the toolbar at the top of this page.
If you want to access databases and articles from off campus you will need to authenticate yourself via the off campus site. From the main library page, under the tab Resources, Choose the 'off campus access' option. Click on the name of the desired database. Enter your university login and password
NOTE: Accessibility from off campus is better via Firefox or Google Chrome rather than Internet explorer.
NB: IF YOU ARE HAVING A PROBLEM WITH OFF CAMPUS ACCESS IT MAY BE BECAUSE YOU NEED TO HAVE GLOBALPROTECT INSTALLED ON YOUR COMPUTER.