1. Search the World Cat Local options: icatalogue; journals. In icatalogue, choose the Advanced Search option; type in the journal title and from 'format', choose journals/magazines. If the journal is available online, the URL will be provided. There is also a journal button above the search box on the main library page.
2. For online journals, go to the A -Z Journal listing (click on the journal tab on red toolbar and the A-Z list link is under the search box) and type in the title of the journal to identify full text availability for that journal. If a journal is available from more than one database, these details will be provided as well as time period of coverage.
Google Scholar is a subset of Google and is an international index to scholarly literature - articles, books, reports, theses etc. Google Scholar can only provide free access to those journals in the public domain. Where UKZN subscribes to a journal, click on the article title and you will be directed to the full text.
What is a journal?
A journal is a scholarly publication containing articles written by researchers, academics and other experts. Journals focus on a specific discipline or field of study. Unlike newspapers and magazines, journals are intended for an academic or technical audience, not general readers. In the Cecil Renaud library the print journals are kept on the first floor in alphabetical order by title.
Online Journals are usually grouped in databases - see the databases tab
Most journal articles...
UKZN Library no longer gets journals in print format. They are all online. Search Google Scholar from teh library's website or the databases (see databases page on this guide)
South African journals online
You are able to access all the electronic resources in the library from wherever you are. From the RRSOURCES tab on the library page, click on Off Campus Access, click on a database name, enter your university username and password. Make sure you have Global Protect installed.
Interlibrary loans (ILL) is a service which supports and enhances the University Library collections when these fail to meet the needs of the students and academics. You can now do all your requests online from the library catalogue. You will need to create a My Library Account. When you find an item in the catalogue, click on the red ILL REQUEST tab. You will be asked to login to your My Library Account. Check all needed details are there and click submit. You will be informed when a book is available for collection. Article pdfs will be emailed to you.
Setting up a My Library Account
If a needed article is not available in either print or online, either contact your subject librarian who will check and then submit a request via the inter library loan system which is available through the catalogue when you click on the REQUEST or ILL REQUEST button attached to a result. If it is not available in South Africa, we contact our overseas agent who sources the article and the library pays for it and it is emailed to us.