A journal is a scholarly publication containing articles written by researchers, academics and other experts in the field of study. Unlike newspapers and magazines, journals are intended for an academic or technical audience, not general readers. They are published on a regular basis (monthly, quarterly, etc.) and are sequentially numbered. Each copy is an issue; a set of issues makes a volume (usually, each year is a separate volume).
Open Access (OA) is the practice of providing unrestricted access via the internet to peer reviewed scholarly journal articles.
Scholarly or academic journals are important resources of academic research for assignment writing as they contain up-to-date, specific and often in-depth information. Like newspapers and magazines, journals are also called periodicals or serials. Journals can be in print, online or both.
Scholarly journals contain articles that have been critiqued by scholars/experts in the same field to ensure particular academic standards have been met.
Most journal articles ...
The best and most efficient way of finding articles in peer-reviewed journals is to search the online databases (see the tab above). Here, by doing an advanced search, you can often limit the search to "peer-reviewed articles only" or "scholarly articles only".
The online databases can be found on the Databases A - Z list
You can also use 
to access full text journal articles for which UKZN Library pays subscription fees. Click on the UKZN eText link or the title of the article in order to find the full text of the journal article.
In the E.G. Malherbe Library in Durban, journals are arranged according to the Dewey Decimal Classification numbering scheme with the prefix J. For example: "Journal of Sustainable Tourism" is located at J 338.4791 J8.
Many of the journals listed below are available in print as well as online. In many cases, print has been terminated in favour of online subscriptions.
Use the iCatalogue to find the print and electronic journals or alternatively click on E-Journals/ Articles search link on the library catalogue.
This is an alphabetical listing of all the electronic journal titles available to UKZN users. Go here when you want to read a specific journal online, or when you want to check availability.
SACat is a database that contains information about journals in other South African libraries. The holding libraries for each publication are listed. Inter library loan requests can be made direct from this database but first you will need to obtain your own unique pin number from the InterLibrary Loans department.
UKZN Library offers an Interlibrary loan (ILL) facility through which books and copies of journal articles may be requested. If the article cannot be scanned and emailed there is a fee for this.
For more information please consult your Subject Librarian: