Cultural & Heritage Tourism: Dissertations & Theses

A thesis or dissertation is a final long essay involving personal research written by a candidate for a higher degree. Generally, a thesis is the final project for the Masters degree and a dissertation leads to a PhD or doctoral degree.

Theses / dissertations can be a valuable source of information, especially for postgraduate students, who need to know what previous research has been done in their field of study, and who want to see examples of theses to help them prepare their own work.

Click the following link:

http://researchspace.ukzn.ac.za/xmlui/handle/10413/8434

Electronic theses / dissertations

Current and completed research Covers South African research projects in various disciplines including masters and doctoral theses of SA universities and technikons as well as information on research projects from NGOs, the private sector and government departments.

Nexus - Current and Completed Research Projects is searchable via Current and Completed Research as above. However, you may also go directly to the the Nexus database.

UCTD (Union Catalogue of Dissertations and Theses) via SABINET provides an index to all Masters and PhD theses completed in South Africa since 1918. This is the most comprehensive index to South African theses.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses is a comprehensive index to dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning the time period 1743 to the present day. You will be able to view the first 24 pages of each thesis found here.

OpenDOAR is an authoritative directory of academic open access repositories. As well as providing a simple repository list,    

OpenDOAR lets you search for repositories or search repository contents.

South African Institutional Repositories / Archives

• Africa Journal Archive (Sabinet)

• African Higher Education Research Online

• Cape Peninsula University of Technology

• CSIR Research Space

• DISA : Digital Innovation South Africa

• Durban University of Technology

• HSRC Research Outputs

• IRSpace Search for SA and African institutional repositories

• National Research Foundation - Nexus Database System

• North-West University ETDs

• OpenSALDRU (Southern Africa Labour and Development Research Unit at UCT)

• Rhodes e-Reserach Repository

• SCIELO SA

• South African Genealogy - Family History research in South Africa - SA Genealogy

• South African National Veterinary Repository

• UCT CS Research Document Archive

• University of Cape Town Computer Science Research Document Archive

• University of Fort Hare IR

• University of Johannesburg DigiSpace

• University of Kwazulu Natal - UKZN ResearchSpace

• University of Limpopo IR

• University of Pretoria ETDs

• University of Pretoria UPSpace

• University of South Africa - UnisaIR

• University of Stellenbosch - ETDs - SunScholar

• University of Stellenbosch IR

• University of Stellenbosch LIBSpace repository

• University of the Free State ETDs

• University of the Western Cape ETDs

• University of the Western Cape Research Repository

• University of the Witwatersrand, Johannesburg (WITS) (WIReDSPACE)