LibGuides: Gender Studies: Books

Use the online Oxford English Dictionary!

Oxford English Dictionary (Online)
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words - past and present - from across the English-speaking world.

Google Books search

Useful reference works

Reference Books

These are books that are not loanable and may only be used in the library, for example, encyclopaedias and dictionaries. Most of UKZN reference books are identified by the letter 'R' preceding the dewey number on the spine.

Some Online reference books

Some key reference books in print :

Encyclopedia of feminist literature by Whitson, Kathy J.
Call Number: R 809.89287 WHI (Pmb)
Publication Date: 2004
Encyclopedia of gender and society by O'Brien, Jodi
Call Number: R 305.3 OBR PT. 1 & PT.2 (Pmb)
Publication Date: 2009
Encyclopedia of sex and gender : men and women in the world's cultures by Ember, Carol R.
Call Number: R 306.7 EMB V.1-2 (Pmb)
Publication Date: 2003
Encyclopedia of women's autobiography by Boynton, Victoria.
Call Number: R 809.89287 ENC V.1-2; 809.89287 ENC V.1-2 (HC)
Publication Date: 2005
The nonsexist word finder : a dictionary of gender-free usage by Maggio, Rosalie.
Call Number: R 423.1 MAG (HC & Pmb)
Publication Date: 1987
Women's encyclopedia of natural medicine : alternative therapies and integrative medicine for total health and wellness by Hudson, Tori.
Call Number: 618.1 HUD (Pmb)
Publication Date: 2008

Print and electronic books

Books are a good place to start when searching for information. They often provide a good overview of a subject e.g. textbooks teach the basics of a subject, leaving students to supplement this by wider reading.

UKZN Libraries have an extensive collection of print and electronic books. You may borrow print items from the library using your student card and access electronic books via the Library webpage under 'Resources'. Print books are arranged on the shelves in number order.

It is important to use the iCatalogue, as your books could be shelved at a range of numbers in the library.

FINDING MATERIALS USING THE iCATALOGUE

Local Search Box Iframe

Library catalogue A guide that assists with using the library catalogue to find books, journals, etc

Shelf numbers of Gender Studies books @ UKZN Libraries

UKZN library books are shelved by numbers according to the Dewey Decimal System - these shelf numbers keep related books together on the shelf by subject. You can follow the numbers to find a family of related books all together on the shelf.

The most efficient way to locate material in the library is to search the library catalogue. However the following may be useful as a guide when browsing the shelves:

Number	Subject
155.3	Psychology of the sexes
301.4	Social structure
301.41	The sexes and their relationships / sexuality
301.412	Women / Feminism
301.4121-4129	Special aspects of women’s role and function
301.4157	Homosexuality
301.42	Marriage and family
301.426	Family planning
301.427	Interfamily relationships
304.11	Men – social role and function / Masculinity
305.3	Gender
305.31	Men
305.4	Women
305.42	Feminism
306.76	Sexual orientation
320.34	Civil and political rights of women
323.34	Women – civil and human rights / women’s rights
324.3	Women – political rights
324.623	Women’s suffrage
345.0285	Abortion
355.4082	Women in combat
362.8	Problems of other groups and their relationships
362.82	Families
362.83	Unmarried mothers
612.6	Reproduction, development, maturation / human
809.933522	Women – literature – history and criticism

eBooks

The library has a growing collection of electronic books. Most text books are currently not available electronically. The iLink catalogue will provide the URL where online access is available.

Some examples of links to collections of electronic books are listed below:

Link to collections of e-books at UKZN
Project Gutenberg
E-texts of books that are out of copyright (published prior to 1923) can be found here.

Academic Reserves

Prescribed and recommended books in high demand are placed on Academic Reserves. A two hour loan period is available in order to provide access to as many people as possible. Material may not be removed from the library but may be borrowed overnight or for weekends from 3pm on Fridays and must be returned on Monday by 9 am.

Books on Academic Reserves can be found by using the library's catalogue.

Be warned! Late material is subject to heavy fines!

What if a book is not available in the library?

UKZN Library offers an Inter-Library Loan (ILL) facility through which books can be borrowed from other libraries in the country if available. Most times there is no charge for borrowing a book. Copies of journal articles may also be requested and if it cannot be scanned and emailed there is a fee for this.

Forms are available for filling in or email the relevant ILL office.

On the national system SABINET, the collection SACat indicates what books are in which library in the country.

For more information please consult the ILL guide.

Inter-Library Loan Guide

New books

Recommend new books to be ordered by sending the titles to me by e-mail.

Click the link below to view the fortnightly list of new books.

List of new books.
Placing a Book Order
Migration, gender and social justice : perspectives on human insecurity
more...less...
This book is the product of a collaborative effort involving partners from Africa, Asia, Europe and Latin America who were funded by the International Development Research Centre Programme on Women and Migration (2006-2011). The International Institute of Social Studies at Erasmus University Rotterdam spearheaded a project intended to distill and refine the research findings, connecting them to broader literatures and interdisciplinary themes. The book examines commonalities and differences in the operation of various structures of power (gender, class, race/ethnicity, generation) and their interactions within the institutional domains of intra-national and especially international migration that produce context-specific forms of social injustice. Additional contributions have been included so as to cover issues of legal liminality and how the social construction of not only femininity but also masculinity affects all migrants and all women. The resulting set of 19 detailed, interconnected case studies makes a valuable contribution to reorienting our perceptions and values in the discussions and decision-making concerning migration, and to raising awareness of key issues in migrants rights. All chapters were anonymously peer-reviewed. This book resulted from a series of projects funded by the International Development Research Centre (IDRC), Canada.

New books in PMB

Migration, gender and social justice : perspectives on human insecurity. Thanh-Đạm Trương.

Gender Studies: Books