UKZN Libraries subscribes to a number of online e-book platforms. We also offer a number of eBooks which can be accessed from our webpage https://library.ukzn.ac.za/e-books/
All ebooks that UKZN subscribes to are listed in the catalogue with a button to click to get to the full text. Most books are housed on the Ebscohost and Proquest platforms. The catalogue itself does not contain the full text, when you click on the link you are taken to the place where the ebook is housed. Number of copies available, conditions of use, downloadability etc are all dictated by the publishers and provided on the home screen of each book.
Research Methods : The Key Concepts
Summary: This book provides an overview of ninety key concepts which often trouble those who are new to researching within the social siences. It covers theories of knowledge, methodologies and methods. Each entry offers a definition of a concept, shows how researchers have used that concept in their researchand discusses difficulties that the concept presents. The book supports those undertaking their own social research projects by providing detailed critical commentary on key concepts in a particularly accessible way. In exploring these concepts, a wide range of research reports across many different fields are described. These include not only classic accounts, but also a broad selection of recent studies, some written by new researchers. The book will be useful for higher-education students carrying out projects within social science faculties at the end of their first degree or during a master's programme, though it will also be helpful for those undertaking doctoral research, and some entries have been written with the production of a thesis in mind.
International organizations and research methods : an introduction
Abstract: Scholars have studied international organizations (IOs) in many disciplines, thus generating important theoretical developments. Yet a proper assessment and a broad discussion of the methods used to research these organizations are lacking. Which methods are being used to study IOs and in what ways? Do we need a specific methodology applied to the case of IOs? What are the concrete methodological challenges when doing research on IOs? International Organizations and Research Methods: An Introduction compiles an inventory of the methods developed in the study of IOs under the five headings of Observing, Interviewing, Documenting, Measuring, and Combining. It does not reconcile diverging views on the purpose and meaning of IO scholarship, but creates a space for scholars and students embedded in different academic traditions to reflect on methodological choices and the way they impact knowledge production on IOs.
Qualitative interviewing : research methods
Authors: Rosalind Edwards(Author) Janet Holland(Author)
eBook2023
New York : Bloomsbury Academic, [2023]
Summary: "This book is a step-by-step guide for new and experienced social science researchers looking to use interviews in their projects. Rosalind Edwards and Janet Holland explain a range of interview types and practices, providing real research examples as informative illustrations of qualitative interviewing in practice, and the use of a range of creative interview tools. The authors explore the use of new technologies as well as issues around asking and listening, and power dynamics in research. Written in a clear and accessible style, the book concludes with an updated annotated bibliography of key texts and journals in the field"-- Provided by publisher.
Research Methods for business students
Summary: "This accessible and clearly written textbook provides a comprehensive and in-depth treatment of philosophical, methodological and ethical aspects of conducting business and management research. Illustrative case studies drawing on published research studies are used throughout and readers are given multiple opportunities to consolidate their learning through review and discussion questions, quizzes, and other exercises. At the end of each chapter a case study takes the reader through the realities and practicalities of applying the knowledge to a specific student research project. This will be an invaluable guide for all students seeking to understand and undertake business and management research..."--Publisher's description
Qualitative research methods for community development
Summary"The second edition of Qualitative Research Methods for Community Development teaches the basic skills, tools, and methods of qualitative research with special attention to the needs of community practitioners. This book teaches students entering planning, community development, nonprofit management, social work, and similar applied fields the core skills necessary to conduct systematic research designed to empower communities and promote social change. Focusing on the basic elements of qualitative research, such as field observation, interviewing, focus groups, and content analysis, this second edition of Qualitative Research Methods for Community Development provides an overview of core methods and theoretical underpinnings of successful research"-- Provided by publisher.
Beginning quantitative research
Summary: This concise text provides a clear and digestible introduction to completing quantitative research. Taking you step-by-step through the process of completing your quantitative research project, it offers guidance on: Formulating your research question Completing literature reviews and meta-analysis Formulating a research design and specifying your target population and data source Choosing an appropriate method and analysing your findings Part of The SAGE Quantitative Research Kit, this book will give you the know-how and confidence needed to succeed on your quantitative research journey.''--Publisher's description.
Doing statistical analysis : a student's guide to quantitative research
Summary"Doing Statistical Analysis looks at three kinds of statistical research questions - descriptive, associational and inferential - and shows students how to conduct statistical analyses and interpret the results. Keeping equations to a minimum, it uses a conversational style and relatable examples such as football, covid-19 and tourism, to aid understanding. Each chapter contains practice exercises, and a section showing students how to reproduce the statistical results in the book using Stata and SPSS. Digital supplements consist of data sets in Stata, SPSS and Excel, practical videos explaining how to do basic analysis, and a test bank for instructors. Its accessible approach means this is the ideal textbook for undergraduate students across the social and behavioural sciences needing to build their confidence with statistical analysis"-- Provided by publisher.