This is the "Dissertations & Theses" page of the "ResearchSpace" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

ResearchSpace   Tags: research, research methods  

ResearchSpace is an institutional repository of the University of KwaZulu-Natal which was developed to disseminate and manage digital materials created by researchers of our institution.
Last Updated: Jun 28, 2017 URL: http://libguides.ukzn.ac.za/ResearchSpace Print Guide RSS Updates

Dissertations & Theses Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Theses & Dissertations

 

Databases for non-South African theses

Opendoar
Open access repository for research.

CORE
COnnecting REpositories (CORE) facilitates access and navigation to relevant scientific papers stored in UK open access repositories.

DATAD 
Database of African Theses and Dissertations containing citations and abstracts for dissertations completed in African universities. To search and access the brief citations, you must first register at the site and then login.

Dissertation.com
The primary function of Dissertation.com is to provide students, researchers, and the general public with low cost access to important academic work. Publications are made easily accessible on-line and through thousands of booksellers, reducing the cost of acquisition and speeding delivery to those interested.

Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology
An international database of bibliographic records for completed dissertations and new dissertation topics in the fields of musicology, music theory, and ethnomusicology, as well as in related musical, scientific, and humanistic disciplines; contains more than 12,000 records, including the contents of the earlier printed editions of Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology and supplements contributed from musicological centers throughout the world.

More databases

Searching for theses in the UKZN icatalogue

1. Once at WorldCat Local, choose iCatalogue and run a search. When you get a results list, choose the theses option under format from the left hand column of the screen

2. Once at WorldCat Local, choose the iDiscovery option and scroll down to the theses option

   Type in subject, author, title, keywords etc in the relevant search boxes

   UKZN theses are listed first in the results.

      

    UKZN Theses

    The General Rules of the University require every post-graduate student to submit two final, corrected copies of their dissertation, research report or thesis in a printed format as well as a final, corrected copy in electronic format.

    UKZN is digitising its theses starting with the most recent ones and working backwards so a free pdf copy is available.

    1. The digitised theses are available on ResearchSpace and a thesis can be searched for via author, title, date, and community. It is best to access   Research Space via FireFox.

    2. All theses are also listed in the iCatalogue in World Cat Local with a URL link to the full text.  

    3. ResearchSpace also provides links to sites that deal with publisher copyright policies.

    4. Theses can also be traced via Google.



     

    Theses collections for South Africa

    UCTD (Union Catalogue of Dissertations and Theses) 

    Provides an index to all Masters and PhD theses completed in South Africa since 1918. This is the most comprehensive index to South African theses. If you want to see if the full text of a thesis is available, you will have to go to the library website of the institution through which the thesis was completed.

    Sabinet Current & Completed Research

    Covers South African research projects in various disciplines including masters and doctoral theses of SA universities and technikons as well as information on research projects from NGOs, the private sector and government departments. All non-English titles of projects are translated into English. Abstracts are included for completed projects from 1988 onwards. The Nexus Database System Division of the National Research Foundation maintains this database.

    Wits Institutional Repository (WIReDSpace): Digital Libraries/Repositories (South Africa)

    Denise Nicholson of Wits Library has put together a useful guide of those South African institutions digitising academic materials inclusive of theses as well as a list of some international collections.

    Google and Google Scholar will also list theses in results.

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip