Prescribed and recommended books: Academic Reserves
Prescribed and recommended books are usually kept in the Academic Reserves sections of the libraries. Academic Reserves materials may not be taken out of the library. Academic Reserves material may be used in the library for two hours only. Photocopying services are available in the library.
Free E-Book collection
The library has a growing collection of electronic or online books which have been paid for by the library. There are many free online book services which can be found by searching under the online Free E-book options at the bottom of the library webpage
Some examples listed below:
UKZN Libraries have an extensive collection of print and electronic books. You may borrow items from the print collection using your student or staff card. Electronic books are accessible via the 'Ebooks' tab as well as the icatalogue on the library webpage.
BELOW IS A LISTING OF THE VARIOUS CATEGORIES OF THE BOOK COLLECTION
Most recent South African texts and copies of prescribed and recommended books are usually kept in the Academic Reserves (AR) section of each library. Academic Reserves materials may not be taken out of the library at all. An advance booking system is available, please consult the AR staff. Some of these books may be available online. The catalogue record for an ebook will have a clickable 'view full text' button to take you to where the book is housed online.
The general book stock is arranged on the open shelves in Dewey (number) order. You may confirm your borrowing privileges by checking on the library webpage, under the 'general information' tab.
The 'Advanced Search' under the Search on the Library's website may be used to track the location and availability of an item and refine by format of document etc.
Discipline specific dictionaries and encyclopedias and other reference works are available in the libraries. This material is to be used only in the library and is not loanable.
The eBook collection is currently being developed to supplement and enhance the print collection. eBooks also facilitate greater access to more library users. Importantly, access to the eBook collections can be obtained from the library webpage under the eBook tab as well as iCatalogue. However, when you need to access any eBook and you are off-campus, you need to authenticate yourself as a user by logging in from the OFF-CAMPUS page. You will then be able to retrieve all eBooks available on the various databases. Note that the number of persons who can access a book at the same time varies as well as the options to download, print, email, save pages etc. The home screen for any ebook will provide all this information. If a book is in use, you may be able to place a hold to be notified when the book becomes available.
Print and electronic copies of theses (masters and PhDs) undertaken at UKZN are available. Electronic versions of theses can be accessed from the ResearchSpace platform. This is UKZN Library's repository of all submitted theses and dissertations. For more information, please click on the Theses and Dissertations tab at the top of this page
The library has a growing collection of electronic books which can be found by searching in the icatalogue or under the online eBooks tab. Some examples are listed below.
In addition, links are provided to collections of electronic books.
Reference books
These are books that are not loanable and may only be used in the library, for example, encyclopaedias and dictionaries. They are identified by the letter 'R' preceding the dewey number on the spine.
Some examples of print reference works: