Criminology and Forensic Studies Discipline (CFSD): Assignment Help Semester 2 2022

 STUDENTS CAN OBTAIN ASSISTANCE WITH WRITING THEIR ASSIGNMENTS BY EMAILING THE FOLLOWING:

• COLLEGE OF LAW AND MANAGEMENT:
  • Ms Serrenta Naidoo                           Naidoos2@ukzn.ac.za
• COLLEGE OF HUMANITIES:
  • Ms Liberty Taurai Mambondiani         MambodianiL@ukzn.ac.za

BOOKS ON THIS TOPIC CAN BE FOUND IN THE EGM LIBRARY ON THE 2ND FLOOR AT THE FOLLOWING SHELF NUMBERS:

• 364.3                Criminal behaviour

• 364.6                Corrections, punishment

THE FOLLOWING SOURCES MAY BE USED TO ASSIST WITH YOUR ASSIGNMENT

GLOBAL PROTECT MUST BE DOWNLOADED TO YOUR MACHINE FOR SEAMLESS ACCESS TO ELECTRONIC RESOURCES

EBOOK TITLES

EBOOK COLLECTIONS

FREE E-RESOURCES 

The Routledge handbook on Africana criminologies

The crime and punishment debate

Negotiating gender equity in the global South : the politics of domestic violence policy 

Jurisprudence in an African context  

Punishment and incarceration : a global perspective

South Africa: International convention on the suppression and punishment of the crime of apartheid 19

OTHER PRINT TITLES YOU MAY USE FOUND IN THE LIBRARY (CLICK TO ESTABLISH EXACT LOCATION)

• Penology a realistic approach
• Crime, punishment, and deterrence
• Restorative discipline
• Twentieth century interpretations of Crime and punishment; a collection of critical essays.

THESES WRITTEN AT UKZN ABOUT THIS TOPIC (click on links)

• The role of restorative justice in the sentencing of adult offenders convicted of serious crimes: some reflections through the case law.

FOR  WEBSITE INFORMATION ON CRIME STATS IN SA CLICK ON LINKS BELOW

• The business of punishment in SA
• Crime and punishment : criminal kids (evideo)
• SENTENCING IN SOUTH AFRICA Public perception and ... 
• CRIME AND PU'NISHMENT IN SOUTH AFRICA - Office of ...
• The Purposes of Punishment 
• What are the aims of punishment? - Crime and ... - BBC

THE FOLLOWING YOUTUBE VIDEOS CAN BE VIEWED THAT DEAL WITH THE TOPIC OF CRIME IN SOUTH AFRICA

• Punishment and victimology 
• The Business of Punishment - South Africa 
• Goals of Punishment 
• Theories of punishment. South Africa. Criminal law 
• The New Apartheid: Crime and Punishment in South Africa
• Capital punishment in south Africa 

 FOR HELP ON HOW TO REFERENCE CLICK ON THE LINK BELOW AND GO TO THE REFERENCING TAB

UKZN online library training 2022

YOU MAY USE THE FOLLOWING ARTICLES TO SUPPLEMENT YOUR READINGS

• Prevalence and factors associated with experience of corporal punishment in public schools in South Africa 
• Decolonising the South African prison 
• Vigilantism in Ghana: Trends, Victim Characteristics, and Reported Reasons 
• Punishment Goals of Crime Victims 
• Punishment. 
• Does capital punishment deter white-collar crimes?
• Conceptual Issues of the Goals of Punishment 
• Is It All About Retribution? The Flexibility of Punishment Goals
• IDEA OF PRIVATE PRISONS – THROUGH THE PRISM OF GOALS OF PUNISHMENT

THE FOLLOWING SOURCES MAY BE USED TO ASSIST WITH YOUR ASSIGNMENT

BOOKS ON THIS TOPIC CAN BE FOUND IN THE EGM LIBRARY ON THE 2ND FLOOR AT THE FOLLOWING SHELF NUMBERS:

• 363.20968       Policing in South Africa

• 363.23             Policing and security

GLOBAL PROTECT MUST BE DOWNLOADED TO YOUR MACHINE FOR SEAMLESS ACCESS TO ELECTRONIC RESOURCES

EBOOK TITLES

• EBOOK COLLECTIONS
• FREE E-RESOURCES
• Protest nation : the right to protest in South Africa
• Justice gained? : crime and crime control in South Africa's transition
  
• The Routledge handbook on Africana criminologies 
• Africa and globalization : challenges of governance and creativity 
• Contemporary criminology in practice in South Africa 

OTHER PRINT BOOKS YOU MAY USE WHICH CAN BE FOUND AT THE LIBRARY

• Uneasy peace : the great crime decline, the renewal of city life, and the next war on violence
• Black and blue : policing in South Africa
• Policing and security in practice : challenges and achievements
• Handbook of policing
• Fighting crime together : the challenges of policing and security networks

THESES WRITTEN AT UKZN ABOUT THIS TOPIC (click on links)

• Coping skills and suicide ideation in South African Police Service members in KwaZulu-Natal. 

• Police corruption: a threat to South Africa's democracy.  

• Old versus new : a South African Police Service culture attitudinal comparison. 

• An exploration of police killings in Durban, KwaZulu-Natal. 

• The effectiveness of the Independent Police Investigative Directorate in investigating Section 28 (1)(B) death as a result of police action and Section 28 (1)(G) police corruption in KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa. 

WEBSITE INFORMATION

• The impact and challenges of a public policy implemented in ... 
• SAPS challenges pile up and as inner conflict continues ... -
• IOL  THE CHALLENGES OF COMMUNITY POLICING IN SOUTH ... 
• SA police failures demand urgent reform before it's too late 
• The use of intelligence-led policing in combating technology-based crimes in South Africa

YOUTUBE VIDEOS

• Issues facing the South African Police Service. 
• An inside view into policing in South Africa 
• Violence in SA | Unpacking the powers of community policing forums 
• Challenges facing police 
• Mbalula speaks on policing challenges in SA

 FOR HELP ON HOW TO REFERENCE CLICK ON THE LINK BELOW AND GO TO THE REFERENCING TAB

UKZN online library training 2022

YOU MAY USE THE FOLLOWING SOURCES TO SUPPLEMENT YOUR READINGS 

• The challenges of establishing partnership policing in Soshanguve township, South Africa 
• Policing sexual violence in South Africa: Problems and challenges 
• The state of crime in South Africa - community perceptions, expectations and actions 
• The Paradox of Civil Policing in Contemporary South Africa 
• Cybersecurity in South Africa - are there lessons to be learned from the major data breach?
• A criminological exploration of community policing forums in Durban, South Africa : a study based on Glenwood Suburb and Cato Manor Township 
• Policing the Pandemic in South Africa: Beware of the Remedy
• Asikhulumeni (Let us talk) : Cator Manor residents perceptions and expectations of police response to service delivery protests in South Africa
• The policing of rural and urban crimes: a case study of the Msinsini and Umbilo policing precincts in KwaZulu-Natal
• Policing sexual violence in South Africa: Problems and challenges
  

BOOKS ON THIS TOPIC CAN BE FOUND IN THE EGM LIBRARY ON THE 2ND FLOOR AT THE FOLLOWING SHELF NUMBERS:

• 363.20968            Police South Africa

• 363.23                 Community Policing

•  363.2                  Vigilantism South Africa

THE FOLLOWING SOURCES MAY BE USED TO ASSIST WITH YOUR ASSIGNMENT

GLOBAL PROTECT MUST BE DOWNLOADED TO YOUR MACHINE FOR SEAMLESS ACCESS TO ELECTRONIC RESOURCES

EBOOK TITLES

EBOOK COLLECTIONS

FREE E-RESOURCES 

The Routledge handbook on Africana criminologies 

National Consultation on Safety and Force : an opportunity for police - minority community cooperation : summary report.

Moving toward a just peace : the mediation continuum

Applied law for police officials 

The security needs assessment protocol : improving operational effectiveness through community security

Rural crime and community safety 

Electric-shock weapons, tasers and policing : myths and realities 

Community Concern: Police Use of Deadly Force 

Vigilantism against migrants and minorities

Police use of deadly force : what police and the community can do about it. 

OTHER PRINT TITLES YOU MAY USE FOUND IN THE LIBRARY (CLICK TO ESTABLISH EXACT LOCATION)

• Community policing
• Policing : key readings
• Police management in South Africa
• Handbook of policing
• The Sage dictionary of policing
• Thin blue : the unwritten rules of policing South Africa
• Policing for a new South Africa
• Policing to protect human rights : a survey of police practice in countries of the Southern African Development Community, 1997-2002.
• Shooting to kill? : policing, firearms and armed response
• Transforming the robocops : changing police in South Africa

THESES WRITTEN AT UKZN ABOUT THIS TOPIC (click on links)

• Predisposed police culture attitudes: South African Police Service versus Justice Institute of British Columbia newcomers.
  

• Community engagement of local space in crime mapping and policing of informal settlements : a study of Cato Crest informal settlement.

• A cross-sectional study of traditional police culture themes amongst experienced South African Police Service officials.  

• A criminological exploration of community policing forums in Durban, South Africa: a study based on Glenwood Suburb and Cato Manor Township.

• Inner city informal traders as key social agents in governing security : an exploration of policing arrangements in Warwick Triangle.

FOR  WEBSITE INFORMATION ON CRIME STATS IN SA CLICK ON LINKS BELOW

An Overview of Community Policing in South Africa - GSDRC

Crime prevention through environmental design and community policing

Deputy Minister Bongani Mkongi launches Community ... 

Community policing

Community policing: Elements and effects  

The effectiveness of Community Policing Forums (CPFs) in ...  

Services | SAPS (South African Police Service) 

A critique of community policing  

Community development and its influence on community policing  

'Venus versus Mars': an attitudinal comparison made at the start of South African police service basic training

THE FOLLOWING YOUTUBE VIDEOS CAN BE VIEWED THAT DEAL WITH THE TOPIC OF CRIME IN SOUTH AFRICA

Does Community Policing Build Trust in Police and Reduce Crime?

What is Community Policing? 

What Is Community Policing?: Divergent Agendas, Practices, and Experiences of Transforming the Police in Kenya

Violence in SA | Unpacking the powers of community policing forums

Private Security in South Africa Comes at a Cost 

The role of Community Police Forum's in crime fighting: Tilly Michaels

What communities actually want from the police

State of policing in South Africa: Eldred de Klerk 

Roundtable: ‘Unrest’, Criminal Justice and Social Cohesion

Senior Researcher: Melusi Ncala speaks on the impact of corruption in effective policing

Police Commissioner Masemola briefing on crime fighting measures

Is South Africa's Operation Dudula xenophobic against migrants?  

David Bruce on decentralized policing | Solutions With David Ansara Podcast #43

Exploring the relation between support for community policing and police integrity in South Africa

HEROES AND VILLAINS - Good Cop ... Bad Cop.

Leihlo la Sechaba - Police and Corruption

SAPS AND CPF

Crime in SA | 'Community must report incidents'

 FOR HELP ON HOW TO REFERENCE CLICK ON THE LINK BELOW AND GO TO THE REFERENCING TAB

UKZN online library training 2022

YOU MAY USE THE FOLLOWING ARTICLES TO SUPPLEMENT YOUR READINGS