LibGuides: Cultural & Heritage Tourism: Books

Google Books search

Useful reference works

Reference Books

These are books that are not loanable and may only be used in the library, for example, encyclopaedias and dictionaries. Most of UKZN reference books are identified by the letter 'R' preceding the dewey number on the spine.

Some Online reference books

Some key reference books in print :

Print and electronic books

Books are a good place to start when searching for information. They often provide a good overview of a subject e.g. textbooks teach the basics of a subject, leaving students to supplement this by wider reading.

UKZN Libraries have an extensive collection of print and electronic books. You may borrow print items from the library using your student card and access electronic books via the Library webpage under 'Electronic Resources'. Print books are arranged on the shelves in number order.

It is important to use the iCatalogue, as your books could be shelved at a range of numbers in the library.

Tourism collection: where is it in the library?

UKZN library books are given shelf numbers according to the Dewey Decimal System - these shelf numbers keep related books together by subject. You can follow the numbers like a street address to find a family of related books all together on the shelf.

The most efficient way to locate material in the library is to search the library iC atalogue. However the following may be useful as a guide when browsing the shelves:

Number	Subject
306.48 - 306.482	Sociology of leisure and tourism
338.4791 - 338.4792	Tourism; tourism industry; hospitality
338.47915	Heritage tourism
343.7891 - 343.7892	Tourism law
387.7	Airlines
394.2 - 394.2068	Events management
647.94 - 647.97	Hospitality
790 - 790.08	Recreation
808.8032	Travel writing
910.4 – 911	Travel and exploration
914 - 918	Travel guides

eBooks

The library has a growing collection of electronic books. Most text books are currently not available electronically. The iLink catalogue will provide the URL where online access is available.

Some examples of links to collections of electronic books are listed below:

Link to collections of e-books at UKZN
Project Gutenberg
E-texts of books that are out of copyright (published prior to 1923) can be found here.

Academic Reserves

Prescribed and recommended books in high demand are placed on Academic Reserves. A two hour loan period is available in order to provide access to as many people as possible.

Be warned! Late material is subject to heavy fines!

What if a book is not available in the library?

UKZN Library offers an Inter-Library Loan (ILL) facility through which books can be borrowed from other libraries in the country if available. Most times there is no charge for borrowing a book. Copies of journal articles may also be requested and if it cannot be scanned and emailed there is a fee for this.

Forms are available for filling in or email the relevant ILL office.

On the national system SABINET, the collection SACat indicates what books are in which library in the country.

For more information please consult the following ILL guides:

New books

Recommend new books to be ordered by sending the titles to me by e-mail.

List of new books.

Cultural Heritage and Tourism (ebook) by Dallen J. Timothy
ISBN: 9781845417727

Publication Date: 2020; 2nd edition

Cultural heritage is one of the most important tourism resources in the world. This book provides a comprehensive theoretical overview and applied knowledge of the issues, practices, current debates, concepts and management concerns associated with cultural heritage-based tourism. The second edition has been updated to include timely and emerging topics such as geopolitics, conflict, solidarity tourism, overtourism and climate change. It also expands on important areas such as environmental change, technology, social media, heritage economics, Indigenous knowledge and co-created experiences. This edition includes up-to-date data, statistics, references, case material, figures and pedagogical tools. It remains an important and accessible text for undergraduate and postgraduate students of cultural and heritage tourism, cultural resource management, and museum management.