LibGuides: Gender Studies: Databases

What is a database?

Databases are collections of references to journal articles from many journals, chapters in books, book reviews, conference proceesdings, reports and in some cases, theses and dissertations.

In many cases databases include the full text of journal articles. Access to these databases is paid for by the university.

In some cases only the abstract is available. In this case, you will need to search the library catalogue to see if the journal is available in print.

Online databases are most useful for finding articles when you do not know in which journals articles are published.

Some databases are multidisciplinary and cover a wide range of subjects e.g. Academic Search Complete on EbscoHost Research Databases , while others are subject specific, covering a particular subject or discipline e.g. Ecological Society of America. Other databases are limited to particular geographic areas, e.g Sabinet covers Africa, particularly Sub-Saharan Africa.

Databases A-Z provides links to all of UKZN's subscription databases.

If the library does not subscribe to the journal you will need to get the article from another institution by using the Inter Library Loan facility.

Searching multiple databases

Google Scholar indexes much of the content in available databases. Click on the hyperlinks below to search.

Google Scholar links up with the database subscriptions of UKZN to enable you to gain full-text access if it is available.

Some online databases

Online databases are most useful for finding articles when you do not know in which journals articles are published.

Some databases are multidisciplinary and cover a wide range of subjects e.g. Academic Search Complete, while others are subject specific, covering a particular subject or discipline e.g. Philosopher's Index. Other databases are limited to particular geographic areas, e.g Sabinet covers Africa, particularly Sub-Saharan Africa.

A selection of databases useful for Gender Studies

The following are a selection of electronic databases that are helpful for Gender Studies:

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) covers free, full-text quality controlled and scholarly journals.

EBSCOhost provides access to many databases including the following listed below. Choose the database from EbscoHost Web page. You can search within a single database or select more than one database to search in one time:

*Academic Search Complete

*Africa-Wide Information

*Humanities Source

*MasterFILE Premier

JSTOR is a database of back issues of core journals. All issues of each journal are included in full-text except for the most recent 2 to 5 years.

Project MUSE offers full-text online access to a comprehensive selection of humanities and social science journals.

ProQuest is an international, multidisciplinary database. Search the following indexes:

*International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)
*Proquest Research Library: The Arts

Sabinet is an interdisciplinary database focusing mostly on South Africa but does include some African information. Search the following indexes:

*Index to SA Periodicals (ISAP - no full-text)

*SA ePublications (South Africa & African electronic journals)

*SA Media

*SAPA

Sage Journals provides access to full-text articles in journals published by Sage.

ScienceDirect offers indexes and full text articles published in Elsevier and other journals.

SwetsWise is a multidisciplinary database covering authoritative titles from core literature.

Taylor & Francis Online is the platform that supports the Library in its mission and puts research first.

Open access journal databases

Some examples:

DOAJ : Directory of Open Acess Journals

Taylor & Francis Online: Taylor & Francis Open
Taylor & Francis and Routledge currently publish a number of pure open access journals. All of the articles in these journals are published open access. The articles in these journals receive both rigorous peer-review and expedited online publication.

Sabinet Open Access Journals

INFORMATION / TRAININGS FROM DATABASE SUPPLIERS

ScienceDirect Part 2: Understanding what funding bodies expect from grant applications In the second webinar in our series focusing on understanding and getting the best from research metrics and indicators, Lesley shares insights into the expectations of funding bodies. Lesley discusses how best to use metrics and indicators in your grant application. Among the topics covered are: - The research funding cycle - Funder wants, needs and other expectations - The centrality of peer review and how this plays a role - What metrics and indicators can support your case Live online Jun 15, 2021, 3:00 pm South Africa - Johannesburg or after on demand 30 mins

How do I access databases from off campus?

Use the Off-campus Access link if you are not on campus.

You will need a valid LAN username and password to access databases from off-campus. This refers to the username and password you use to access the computers on campus.

For more information on accessing UKZN library e-resources from off-campus, consult our FAQ's

Searching a single database

From the 'Electronic Resources' tab on the Library's website choose 'Databases A-Z' (if you know the name of the database) and click on the name of the desired database; or click on 'Databases for subject' for a list of possible databases for a subject area. (See a list of selected databases below).

Type keywords into the search box and scan results. The results will indicate in which journals articles appear and whether full text is availalble.

Use the Off-campus Access link if you are not on campus.

Gender Studies: Databases