LibGuides: Philosophy and Ethics: Books

Philosophy New eBooks

Carnap and Twentieth-Century Thought by A. W. Carus
ISBN: 9780511487132
Publication Date: 2009-09-22
Rudolf Carnap (1891-1970) is widely regarded as one of the most important philosophers of the twentieth century. Born in Germany and later a US citizen, he was a founder of the philosophical movement known as Logical Empiricism. He was strongly influenced by a number of different philosophical traditions (including the legacies of both Kant and Husserl), and also by the German Youth Movement, the First World War (in which he was wounded and decorated), and radical socialism. This book places his central ideas in a broad cultural, political and intellectual context, showing how he synthesised many different currents of thought to achieve a philosophical perspective that remains strikingly relevant in the twenty-first century. Its rich account of a philosopher's response to his times will appeal to all who are interested in the development of philosophy in the twentieth century.
Hume by Alfred Jules Ayer
ISBN: 9780191540332
Publication Date: 2000-01-01
Hume's "naturalist" approach to a wide variety of philosophical topics resulted in highly original theories about perception, self-identity, causation, morality, politics, and religion, all of which are discussed in this stimulating introduction by A.J. Ayer, himself one of the twentieth century's most important philosophers. Ayer also gives an account of Hume's fascinating life and character, and includes generous quotations from Hume's lucid and often witty writings.
Justice and the Politics of Difference by Iris Marion Young; Danielle S. Allen (Foreword by)
ISBN: 9781400839902
Publication Date: 2011-08-22
No detailed description available for "Justice and the Politics of Difference".
Why Not Socialism? by Gerald A. Cohen
ISBN: 9781400830633
Publication Date: 2009-08-24
No detailed description available for "Why Not Socialism?".

Introduction to the Philosophy of Science

Ethics new eBooks

African women's liberating philosophies, theologies, and ethics by Beatrice Okyere-Manu, Léocadie Lushombo, editor
ISBN: 9783031391330
Publication Date: 2024
Case studies in society, religion, and bioethics by Sana Loue
ISBN: 9783030441500
Publication Date: 2020
Human Germline Genome Modification and the Right to Science by Andrea Boggio (Editor); Cesare P. R. Romano (Editor); Jessica Almqvist (Editor)
ISBN: 1108607276
Publication Date: 2020-01-13
African Philosophy and Environmental Conservation by Jonathan O. Chimakonam (Editor)
ISBN: 9781315099491
Publication Date: 2017-10-04

eBooks

The library has a growing collection of electronic books. Most text books are currently not available electronically but a few are. The iCatalogue will provide the URL where online access is available.

Some examples of links to collections of electronic books are listed below:

Link to collections of e-books at UKZN
Project Gutenberg
E-texts of books that are out of copyright (published prior to 1923) can be found here.

African Philosophy and the Otherness of Albinism

Paulin Hountondji : African philosophy as critical universalism

Reference Books

Reference Books are useful for providing background information, definitions and quick facts. Examples are encyclopaedias and dictionaries.

Most of UKZN reference books are identified by the letter 'R' preceding the Dewey number on the spine. They are not loanable and may only be used in the library.

Some examples:

The Oxford dictionary of philosophy
Call Number: R 100 BLA (HC); R 103 BLA (Pmb)
The Blackwell dictionary of Western philosophy
Call Number: Call Number: R 190 BUN (HC)
Dictionary of world philosophy
Call Number: Call Number: R 103 IAN (Pmb)
Encyclopedia of philosophy and the social sciences
Call Number: Call Number: R 103 ENC V.1-2 (Pmb)
Encyclopaedia Britannica
Concise Routledge encyclopedia of philosophy
Call Number: Call Number: R 103 ROU (Pmb)
Oxford English Dictionary

icatalogue

icatalogue

Print and electronic books

Books are a good place to start when searching for information. They often provide a good overview of a subject e.g. textbooks teach the basics of a subject, leaving students to supplement this by wider reading.

UKZN Libraries have an extensive collection of print and electronic books. You may borrow print items from the library using your student / staff card and access electronic books via the Library webpage under 'Electronic Resources'. Print books are arranged on the shelves in number order.

What are E-books?

It is important to use the iCatalogue, as your books could be shelved at a range of numbers in the library.

Philosophy collection: where are they in the library?

UKZN library books are given shelf numbers according to the Dewey Decimal System - these shelf numbers keep related books together on the shelf by subject. You can follow the numbers to find a family of related books all together on the shelf.

The following is a guide to Philosophy dewey numbers:

(Please refer to the Icatalogue for more specific searching).

· 100 Philosophy

· 101 Theory of philosophy

· 103 Dictionaries and encyclopedias of philosophy

· 107 Education, research, and related topics of philosophy

· 109 Historical treatment of philosophy

· 110 Metaphysics

· 111 Ontology

· 113 Cosmology

· 115 Time

· 116 Change

· 117 Structure

· 118 Force and energy

· 119 Number and quantity

· 120 Epistemology, causation, humankind

· 121 Epistemology (theory of knowledge)

· 122 Causation

· 123 Determinism and indeterminism

· 126 The self

· 128 Humankind

· 140 Philosophical schools of thought

· 141 Idealism and related systems and doctrines

· 142 Critical philosophy

· 144 Humanism and related systems and doctrines

· 145 Sensationalism

· 160 Logic

· 161 Induction

· 168 Argument and persuasion

· 170 Ethics

· 171 Ethical systems

· 172 Political ethics

· 174 Occupational ethics

· 180 Ancient, medieval, and Eastern philosophy

· 181 Eastern philosophy

· 182 Pre-Socratic Greek philosophies

· 183 Socratic and related philosophies

· 184 Platonic philosophy

· 185 Aristotelian philosophy

· 188 Stoic philosophy

· 189 Medieval Western philosophy

· 190 Modern Western philosophy (19^th century, 20^th century)

· 191 Modern Western philosophy of the United States and Canada

· 192 Modern Western philosophy of the British Isles

· 193 Modern Western philosophy of Germany and Austria

· 194 Modern Western philosophy of France

· 195 Modern Western philosophy of Italy

· 199 Modern Western philosophy in other geographic areas.

Ethics - E- Books

A relational moral theory : African ethics in and beyond the continent by Thaddeus Metz
ISBN: 9780191065781
Publication Date: 2022
A discourse on African philosophy : a new perspective on Ubuntu and transitional justice in South Africa, Lanham by Christian B.N. Gade
ISBN: 9781498512268
Publication Date: 2017
The Equal Society by George Hull (Editor, Contribution by); U. K. College London Jonathan Wolff (Contribution by); Charles Mills (Contribution by); Miranda Fricker (Contribution by); Daniel Putnam (Contribution by); Bekka Williams (Contribution by); Tom Angier (Contribution by); Lucy Allais (Contribution by); Thaddeus Metz (Contribution by); David Bilchitz (Contribution by); Daryl Glaser (Contribution by); Ann E. Cudd (Contribution by); Gina Schouten (Contribution by); Pierre-Yves Néron (Contribution by)
ISBN: 9781498515726
Publication Date: 2015
The humanist imperative in South Africa by John W. De Gruchy.
ISBN: 9781920338633
Publication Date: 2011

Academic Reserves

Prescribed and recommended books in high demand are placed on Academic Reserves. A two hour loan period is available in order to provide access to as many people as possible. Material may not be removed from the library but may be borrowed overnight or for weekends from 3pm on Fridays and must be returned on Monday by 9 am.

Be warned! Late material is subject to heavy fines!

What if a book is not available in the library?

UKZN Library offers an Inter-Library Loan (ILL) facility through which books can be borrowed from other libraries in the country if available. Most times there is no charge for borrowing a book. Copies of journal articles may also be requested and if it cannot be scanned and emailed there is a fee for this.

Forms are available for filling in or email the relevant ILL office.

On the national system SABINET, the collection SACat indicates what books are in which library in the country.

For more information please consult the following ILL guides:

New Books

Placing a Book Order

Recommend new books to be ordered by sending the titles to me by e-mail.

Click the link below to view the fortnightly list of new books.

List of new books.