Skip to main content

Management: Databases

Database tips

When you are off campus, complete access to all database contents will only possible by first authenticating yourself using your username and password.  If you omit to follow this step, you may experience problems and will be unable to retrieve full-text articles and comprehensive details.

 This icon on the page of the A-Z list of databases will help you determine the content of each database.  This will in turn assist you in selecting the database that is most appropriate for you research needs.

These are databases that the library intends to buy.  However, before we purchase we are offered a trial period to assess the suitability of the content for research purposes.  You may access these databases and comment and assess them thus helping us to decide whether to purchase the respective database.

Here you will be able to access other national and international institutions theses collections.  If you are unable to access the full-text item kindly contact the Inter-Library Loan department and they will assist you in sourcing the item.

NEW Database for trial

You may access this database for a limited period by clicking on the link below.

https://hstalks.com/business/

 

What is a database?

Databases contain references to journal articles, chapters in books and in some cases, theses and dissertations in multiple journals for multiple years. Some databases also include the full text of the articles and other items. Access to these databases is paid for by the Library.  Important note:  databases are either discipline specific or multidisciplinary.  It is important for you as the researcher to establish which databases best suit your field of study.

Notice!!!! McGregor BFA database is currently accessible through "Off Campus Access" link under electronic resources in the

Library webpage

Searching EbscoHost

Research databases

How To Use Google Scholar for Dummies

Please note that this document is NOT a substitute for Library Training currently taking place in the Library..

Suggested databases for Management, Economics & Finance

Click on the icons below to access the listed databases

What does peer review mean

Many scholarly journals will only accept articles for publication after an expert in the field check the contents of the article for its credibility.  Reviewers assess whether the contents of the article are accurate, fair and balanced, up to date and ethical.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZzUQVedsdDk         

Adapted from the  University of Guelph McLaughlin Library .

Trial databases

All information © 2018 University of KwaZulu-Natal. All rights reserved.