Skip to main content

Social Work: Books

Latest print book titles


BOOKS CAN BE FOUND AT DEWEY NUMBER 361 AND 362 ON THE SECOND FLOOR OF THE EGM LIBRARY

PRESCRIBED TEXTS CAN BE FOUND IN THE ACADEMIC RESERVE COLLECTION ON THE 1ST FLOOR OF THE EGM LIBRARY

RENEW YOUR BOOKS ONLINE

Simply click on the link below and follow the instructions to renewing your books online

ABOUT THE BOOK COLLECTION (print & electronic)

UKZN Libraries have an extensive collection of print and electronic books. You may borrow items from the print collection using your student or staff card.  Electronic books are accessible via the 'Electronic Resources' tab on the library webpage.

BELOW IS A LISTING OF THE VARIOUS CATEGORIES OF THE BOOK COLLECTION

  • Academic Reserves : Prescribed and recommended books:

Most recent South African texts and copies of prescribed and recommended books are usually kept in the Academic Reserves section of each library.  Academic Reserves materials may not be taken out of the library during the day but may be borrowed overnight or for weekends. An advance booking system is available, please consult the AR staff.

  • General book collection

The general book stock is arranged on the open shelves in Dewey (number) order. Criminology books can be found at 364. You may confirm your borrowing privileges by checking on the library webpage, under the 'general information' tab.

The 'Advanced Search' under the iCatalogue on the Library's website may be used to track the location and availability of an item.

  • Reference collection : Dictionaries and encyclopedias etc.

Discipline specific dictionaries and encyclopedias and other reference works are available in the libraries. This material is to be used only in the library and is not loanable.

  • eBooks

The eBook collection is currently being developed to supplement and enhance the print collection.  eBooks also facilitate greater access to more library users.  Importantly access to the eBook collections can be obtained from the library webpage under the 'electronic resources' tab. However, when you need to access any eBook and you are off-campus, you need to authenticate yourself as a user by logging in from the OFF-CAMPUS  page.  You will then be able to retrieve all eBooks available on the various databases.

  • Theses and dissertations

Print and electronic copies of theses are available. Electronic versions of theses can be accessed from the ResearchSpace platform. This is UKZN Library's repository of all submitted theses and dissertations.  For more information, please click on the Theses and Dissertations tab at the top of this page

UKZN iCATALOGUE

Local Search Box Iframe

Search EbscoHost eBooks

e-Books

New Books

Recommend new books to be ordered by sending the titles to me by e-mail.

 

List of New Books

All information © 2018 University of KwaZulu-Natal. All rights reserved.