Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Digital Arts: Databases

Digital Arts Databases

Interlibrary Loan

If an article you need is not available in our databases, contact your subject librarian and will will do a double check. You can submit an article request to:  ill@ukzn.ac.za. This is the inter library loan facility that enables you to get a copy of an article from another library in the country. Be sure to put in FULL details of the item you want; not just a DOI or url. Include your name, department, student number etc.

What are databases?

Online indexes are databases of bibliographic records. These databases can contain the full text or abstracts of articles, conference papers and more. Databases cover books and other formats, but the primary reason for using an online database is to identify articles in journals and magazines. Important note: databases are either discipline specific or multidisciplinary. Sabinet is unusual in that it is country specific: it reflects South African publications. It is important for you as the researcher to establish which databases best suit your field of study.

 

Searching the databases:

  • In most databases, a simple keyword search includes the article title, the author, and assigned subject terms. It might also include the text of an abstract, content notes, and more.
  • In most databases, you can limit your search to a particular field of the record using a pull-down menu.

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Jabulile Sibisi - Mshengu
Contact:
Cecil Renaud Library, Pietermaritzburg
+27332605942
Website
All information © 2018 University of KwaZulu-Natal. All rights reserved.