Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Digital Arts: Journals

What is a journal?

A journal is a scholarly publication containing articles written by researchers, academics and other experts. Journals focus on a specific discipline or field of study

Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.

The full text of articles however is only available if free or being paid for by UKZN.

Google Scholar Search

SCHOLARLY JOURNALS

 

Scholarly or academic journals are important resources for academic research and assignment writing as they contain up-to-date, specific and often in-depth information. It is even better to use peer-reviewed journals for research. These journals contain articles that have been critiqued by scholars/experts in the same field to ensure that they reflect solid scholarship and high academic standards.

The best and most efficient way of finding articles in peer-reviewed journals is to search the online databases. Here, by doing an advanced search, you can often limit the search to "peer-reviewed articles only" or "scholarly articles only". UKZN library no longer receives print journals so all articles are online.

The online databases can be found on the Databases A - Z list.

Online articles in databases subscribed to by the UKZN library are also listed in the iCatalogue making the catalogue a one-stop shop for accessing a range of scholarly resources.

Google Scholar also indexes journal articles with links to free full text and the full text of those articles subscribed to by UKZN.

 

 

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Jabulile Sibisi - Mshengu
Contact:
Cecil Renaud Library, Pietermaritzburg
+27332605942
Website

What if a journal is not available at UKZN?

UKZN Library offers an Inter library loan (ILL) facility through which scans of journal articles can be obtained from other libraries in the country if available. Copies of journal articles may be requested and if it cannot be scanned and emailed there is fee for this.

You can ask the circulation desk staff to help you or subject librarian. You can send your request to ill@ukzn.ac.za or under the tab 'Library account' on the far rights of the library of the library webpage, click on the Inter library loans. You need to set up an account.

DoHETAccreditedJournals.

All information © 2018 University of KwaZulu-Natal. All rights reserved.