LibGuides: Optometry: Home

Search portals

eResources - navigate our various search portals to locate ebooks, print books, articles, journals, theses...

iCatalogue
iCatalogue is the Library's one stop SEARCH portal to locate ebooks, print books, journal articles, journals and theses.
icatalogue Libguide
THIS GUIDE OFFERS YOU ASSISTANCE WITH...
Introductory notes on searching the library's catalogue.
Library FAQs
Library frequently asked questions
E-books - search ebook collections
This page lists categories of ebooks. Most books purchased by UKZN are in the Ebscohost and Proquest collections. All e books are listed in the library catalogue.
Optometry ebooks available
Recommended Optometry booklist - 2025
Recommended Optometry books
How to do a Literature Review
eJournals
List of current eJournal subscriptions. Search by Title of journal. Route to the selected journal to search for articles.
Library Homepage
eResources Online Training Libguides - Recordings
Includes guides, powerpoint presentations and recordings of previous training sessions on iCatalogue, My Library Account, Sabinet, Ebscohost, Science Direct; Scopus, Web of Science; Proquest
Search strategies, literature searching, Scoping reviews; how to publish and increase visibility, basics of Nvivo, SPSS, Endnote.
Learn
UKZN Teachning and Learning Dashboard.
Learn is a learning platform designed to provide educators, administrators and learners with a single robust, secure and integrated system to create personalised learning environments. Powering tens of thousands of learning environments globally, Learn is trusted by institutions and organisations large and small, including the University of KwaZulu-Natal.
UKZN website

Quicklinks

Clinical Key Database
Clinical Key is a clinical search engine that supports clinical decisions by making it easier to find and apply relevant knowledge. We drive better care by delivering fast, concise answers when every second counts, and deep access to evidence whenever, wherever you need it. Answers questions quickly, recognizing relevant clinical concepts as you type and offering shortcuts to critical answers.
eBooks search portal
All ebooks that UKZN subscribes to are listed in the iCatalogue with a button to click to get to the full text. Most books are housed on the Ebscohost and Proquest platforms. The catalogue itself does not contain the full text, when you click on the link you are routed to where the ebook is housed. Number of copies available, conditions of use, downloadability etc are all dictated by the publishers and provided on the home screen of each book.

Optometry Journals

Optometry Libguide : Welcome! Siyakwamukela!

The Optometry libguide provides guides, user education and information about search portals for electronic and print resources including print books, ebooks, journals, articles and theses for undergraduates, postgraduates, academics, and researchers.

Databases A-Z
Journals are scholarly publications, published on a regular basis, that keep the academic community abreast of current research in various fields. Databases contain digital libraries of academic journals, ebooks, conference proceedings and primary sources.

Most of the printed books are housed in the Westville library at the number range 617.7 - 617.79:

Ophthalmology 617.7

Pathology and surgery of eyes 617.71

Diseases of various parts of the eye 617.719- 617.746

Optometry 617.75

Blogs
Messiah or Monster: ChatGPT in Academia

Databases for Health Sciences : Quicklinks

Databases contain scholarly information. Databases provide access to journal articles, journals, e-books, chapters in books and in some cases, theses and dissertations. Most databases include many full text articles and other reference items.

Proquest One Academic
An international collection of videos, news, journals, ebooks, dissertations and more. By combining ProQuest’s most used multi-disciplinary products on one platform, students, faculty and researchers can serendipitously find the essential content they need to be successful in research, teaching and learning.
Medline via EbscoHost
MEDLINE with Full Text provides the authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences plus the database provides full text for more than 1,470 journals indexed.
Sabinet
Welcome to the Sabinet Reference platform, developed with you, the end-user in mind. Sabinet provides peer reviewed scholarly articles contained in highly specialised South African and Africa/n Journals.
This platform will provide you with a single entry point to seamlessly search Sabinet's reference products.
Scopus
Quickly find relevant and authoritative research, identify experts and gain access to reliable data, metrics and analytical tools. Be confident in advancing research, educational goals, and research direction and priorities — all from one database.

Google scholar

Google Scholar is a subset of Google that indexes more formal and scholarly literature in the public domain. It thus includes references to journal articles, Google Books, documents and reports etc. Google Scholar can only provide full text access to documents where they are freely available. So, if you click on the Google Schoalr link on the UKZN library homepage you will be able to access not only free full text but also what UKZN Library pays for. Clicking on the title of an item will take you to the location of that full text.

Google Scholar Libguide
Includes Google Scholar settings, that augment seamless access to UKZN full-text articles.
Open source e-books are also accessible.

Vision test

Optometry Librarian : Pravina Laljeeth

Pravina Laljeeth

Email Me

Contact:

UKZN Main Library Westville Campus

031 260 7422

Subjects: Dentistry, Health Sciences

Off-Campus access and Global Protect

Off-campus access
When working remotely, you will need to first click on the 'off campus' tab under the Resources option on the library main page. You will get a list of online resources. When you click on any resource you will be prompted for your LAN login credentials: UKZN username and password.
Global Protect VPN (controlled access firewall) requisite download for seamless accessto Library resources
Global Protect is requisite for seamless access to Library eresources. Global Protect is a UKZN acquired security based software firewall that filters traffic to the UKZN website allowing for seamless and secured access to our services and resources.
IT Support - ICS call centre
The Call Centre provides a single point of contact for staff and students to log and direct enquiries and record incidents by providing customer focused, quality IT services and technical support. Clients are encouraged to direct all IT related requests through the Call Centre to ensure, calls are logged and assigned to the correct department. Calls are prioritised in accordance with level of urgency and calls are directed and escalated.

Research Space : UKZN online theses repository

Research Space (online theses)
ResearchSpace is the institutional repository of the University of KwaZulu-Natal which was developed to increase the visibility, availability and impact of its research output. It was also created to disseminate and manage digital materials created by researchers of the institution. Please visit ResearchSpace Libguide for detailed information.
Research Space Libguide
Libguides provide guidelines on how to navigate to Research Space. UKZN theses and dissertations in electronic format will increase the visibility of the institution’s research output locally and internationally.

Journal of Optometry

Journal of Optometry

South African Optometric Association

Welcome to the SAOA
The South African Optometric Association is a professional association, registered as a non-profit company, which represents the professions of optometry and dispensing opticianry in South Africa.

Optometry: Home

eResources Trainings