Research books in print

Books on research methodology : 001.45 and 300.7...

Books on thesis writing and referencing: 808.02 +

Key texts are often kept in Academic Reserves

The books listed below are housed at E.G. Malherbe Library (Dbn) and Cecil Renaud Library (Pmb)

Multilevel analysis : techniques and applications :001.422 HOX(PMB)

Dissertation writing : a research journey
Dbn & Pmb 808.02 BAD

Existing theses are a good guide to format, style, methodology and references

Click on the Theses tab above for links to theses collections at UKZN, South Africa and beyond.

Some research books

The Oxford Handbook of Qualitative Research by Patricia Leavy (Editor) Summary"The Oxford Handbook of Qualitative Research presents a comprehensive and student-friendly overview of the field of qualitative research and is intended for students of all levels, faculty, and researchers across the social sciences. It provides strong focus on methods instruction with coverage of theoretical approaches, analysis, writing, evaluation, and the politics of research"-- Provided by publisher.
ISBN: 9780199811823
Publication Date: 2014
Conducting your literature review by Susanne Hempel SummaryThis book is a step-by-step guide to writing a literature review, and includes tips for modifying the process as needed depending on your audience, purpose, and goals. The lessons in this book can be applied to writing the background section for a thesis or an original research publication. Literature reviews are now much more challenging to compile today than they used to be. You need a structured approach to handle the sheer volume of published research available. This book will help you formulate a strategy for making decisions about what to include and not include in your review, and produce a reliable and unbiased summary of the existing research. You will learn skills for defining research questions, using search tools and managing citations. This book is part of the American Psychological Association's Concise Guides to Conducting Behavioral, Health, and Social Science Research series. Aimed at undergraduate students in research methods courses or others with a lab or research project, each book describes a key stage in the research process. Collectively, these books provide a solid grounding in research from start to finish.
Call Number: 150.72 HEM
ISBN: 1433831236,
Publication Date: 2020
Social research methods : qualitative and quantitative approaches by W. Lawrence Neuman Why do research? -- What are the major types of social research? -- Theory and research -- The meanings of methodology -- How to review the literature review and conduct ethical studies -- Strategies of research design -- Qualitative and quantitative measurement -- Qualitative and quantitative sampling -- Experimental research -- Survey research -- Nonreactive research and secondary analysis -- Analysis of quantitative data -- Field research and focus group research -- Analysis of qualitative data -- Writing the research report and the politics of social research.
Call Number: 301.0721 NEU
ISBN: 9781292020235
Publication Date: 2014
The SAGE handbook of qualitative research in psychology by Carla Willig (Editor), Wendy Stainton Rogers(Editor) 1. Introduction / Wendy Stainton Rogers and Carla Willig -- Part I. Methodologies: 2. Thematic analysis / Gareth Terry, Nikki Hayfield, Victoria Clarke and Virginia Braun; 3. Ethnography / Christine Griffin and Andrew Bengry-Howell; 4. Action research / Carolyn Kagan, Mark Burton and Asiya Siddiquee; 5. Conversation analysis / Sue Wilkinson and Celia Kitzinger; 6. Discursive psychology / Sally Wiggins and Jonathan Potter; 7. Foucauldian discourse analysis / Michael Arribas-Ayllon and Valerie Walkerdine; 8. Psychoanalytic approaches to qualitative psychology / Stephen Frosh and Lisa Saville Young; 9. Memory work / Niamh Stephenson and Susan Kippax; 10. Narrative inquiry / David Hiles, Ivo ermk and Vladimr Chrz; 11. The descriptive phenomenological psychological method / Amedeo Giorgi, Barbro Giorgi and James Morley; 12. Interpretative phenomenological analysis / Virginia Eatough and Jonathan A. Smith; 13. Q methodology / Paul Stenner, Simon Watts and Marcia Worrell; 14. Grounded theory methods for qualitative psychology / Kathy Charmaz and Karen Henwood. Part II. Perspectives and approaches: 15. Ethics in qualitative psychological research / Svend Brinkmann and Steinar Kvale; 16. Interpretation in qualitative research / Carla Willig; 17. Qualitative methods in feminist psychology / Mary Gergen; 18. Postcolonialism and psychology: growing interest and promising potential / Catriona Macleod, Sunil Bhatia and Shose Kessi; 19. Community psychology / Adele V. Malpert, Sarah V. Suiter, Natalie M. Kivell, Douglas D. Perkins, Kimberly Bess, Scotney D. Evans, Carrie E. Hanlin, Patricia Conway, Diana McCown and Isaac Prilleltensky; 20. Social representations / Uwe Flick and Juliet Foster; 21. Visual approaches: using and interpreting images / Paula Reavey and Katherine Johnson; 22. Netnography: radical participative understanding for a networked communications society / Robert Kozinets; 23. Using computer packages in qualitative research: exemplars, developments and challenges / Sarah L. Bulloch, Christina Silver and Nigel Fielding; 24. Mixing qualitative and quantitative methods: a pragmatic approach / Lucy Yardley and Felicity L. Bishop. Part III. Applications: 25. Social psychology / Steven D. Brown and Abigail Locke; 26. Health psychology / Kerry Chamberlain and Michael Murray; 27. Developmental psychology / Erica Burman; 28. Clinical psychology / David Harper; 29. Qualitative research in counselling and psychotherapy: history, methods, ethics and impact / Joseph G. Ponterotto, Jennie Park-Taylor and Eric C. Chen; 30. Qualitative methods in organizational psychology / Elena Doldor, Jo Silvester and Doyin Atewologun; 31. Forensic psychology / Peter Banister; 32. Cultural psychology / Leslie Swartz and Poul Rohleder; 33. Cognitive psychology / Thomas C. Ormerod and Linden J. Ball; 34. Review and prospect / Wendy Stainton Rogers and Carla Willig.
ISBN: 9781526405555
Publication Date: 2017
How to Do a Systematic Literature Review in Nursing: a Step-By-step Guide by Josette Bettany-Saltikov Half title; Praise for this book; Title; Copyright; Contents; List of boxes; List of figures; List of tables; Foreword; Acknowledgements; Introduction; 1 What is a systematic review?; 2 Asking an answerable and focused review question; 3 Writing the plan and background to your review; 4 Specifying your objectives and inclusion and exclusion criteria; 5 Conducting a comprehensive and systematic literature search; 6 Working with your primary papers; 7 Synthesizing, summarizing and presenting your findings; 8 Writing up your discussion and completing your review. 9 Sharing, disseminating and using systematic reviews to inform and improve nursing practiceReferences; Index; Adverts.
ISBN: 9780335242283
Publication Date: 2012-03-01
Conducting systematic reviews in sport, exercise, and physical activity by David Tod Contents: Chapter 1 Introducing Systematic Reviews -- Chapter 2 Planning a Review -- Chapter 3 Defining Suitable Review Questions -- Chapter 4 Justifying the Review -- Chapter 5 Inclusion and Exclusion Criteria -- Chapter 6 Undertaking Search Strategies -- Chapter 7 Data Extraction -- Chapter 8 Critical Appraisal -- Chapter 9 Data Analysis and Synthesis -- Chapter 10 Assessing the Systematic Review -- Chapter 11 Disseminating Results -- Chapter 12 Topic Related to Managing a Review -- Chapter 13 Top Tips from the Experts. Summary: This book offers a conceptual and practical guide to the systematic review process and its application to sport, exercise, and physical activity research. It begins by describing what systematic reviews are and why they assist scientists and practitioners. Providing step-by-step instructions the author leads readers through the process, including generation of suitable review questions; development and implementation of search strategies; data extraction and analysis; theoretical interpretation; and result dissemination. Conducting Systematic Reviews in Sport, Exercise, and Physical Activity clarifies several common misunderstandings including the difference between qualitative systematic reviews and meta-analyses . Each chapter begins with a set of learning objectives focused on practical application, illustrated with examples from reviews published within the sport, exercise, and physical activity fields. Once a reader has completed all the learning activities along the way, they will have designed a systematic review and have written a protocol ready for registration. The book ends with a collection of advice from internationally regarded scientists with substantial experience in systematic reviews. David Tod is Senior Lecturer in sport psychology at Liverpool John Moores University, UK. He teaches modules in systematic reviewing and supervises postgraduate students undertaking systematic reviews and meta-analyses. He is part of a systematic review research group at Liverpool John Moores University. David is Associate Editor for three journals and regularly reviews systematic reviews and meta-analyses.
ISBN: 9783030122638
Publication Date: 2019

Steps in the research process

Identify the research area

What kind of research are you doing and what is the research question/s and / or hypothesis that you wish to answer?

There are various broad types of research in literary studies which may be qualitative or quantitative and each requires a particular methodology:

Text or genre approach where the study may be of particular

Design the research study
texts or particular kinds of texts often of a particular author or theme
Area focus where the study may be across media, comparative, dealing with translations or interdisicplinary
Theory focus taking approaches such as feminist, cultural studies

Undertake a preliminary literature review and draw up a research proposal for your supervisor. Check whether ethical clearance is needed

Carry out research

Know your library collection in both print and electronic, know the tools for searching for information and understand how to evaluate resources. Situate your research within current research. Collect your evidence to answer your research question. Click on the Books, Journals, Databases and Theses tabs above for more information on sources of information and tools. A very useful brief guide to aspects of the literature review and types of reviews etc has been put together by Chimene Tucker of the Unviersity of S California.

Analyse research results

What does your research / data collection tell you and in relation to your research question?

Publish research results

In what format / style must your thesis be written; ensure your referencing is correct and you have avoided plagiarism (click on the Referencing tab above).

Web of Science - Researchers - Showcase your work for promotion, funding, etc.

Web of Science - Webinar

Every Researcher needs to showcase their work

BOB GREEN (Solution Consultant, Clarivate)

Do you want to raise your profile for promotion, tenure and funding applications? Learn how to build your online researcher identity, showcase your work and demonstrate your scholarly impact to get noticed by evaluators. Watch this session to learn all about the Author Records new features, including open peer review. Please click on the link below.

https://clarivate.com/webofsciencegroup/webinars/every-researcher-needs-to-showcase-their-work-english-2/

Online research books

NVIVO and SPSS videos

UKZN Research Office

UKZN Research Office
This site provides access to all UKZN research related policies as well as funding
DoHET Accredited Journals

Get Published:
Your How-to Guide

Open Research and Contributor ID

UKZN Library Video on Open Researcher and Contributor ID (ORCID)

A UKZN Library tutorial video on Open Researcher and Contributor ID (ORCID). Please click on the link.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oLC96uhR-WU&t=12s

NRF CONNECT PROFILE REGISTRATION - HOW TO CREATE AN NRF CONNECT ONLINE PROFILE NRF Connect aims to connect external users with NRF’s internal Grants Management activities using smart workflows and elegant user interfaces. Built off the feedback of our research community and our drive to streamline and simplify our internal business processes, the NRF looks forward to offering its stakeholders a seamless and interactive user experience. Any technical queries can be directed to the NRF Support desk on supportdesk@nrf.ac.za. Sep 2024

How to increase the visibility of your reserch (Elsevier)

How to increase the Visibility of your research

Africa Researcher Success Portal - Advance your research excellence goals

Psychology : Research support