LibGuides: Classics: Dissertations & Theses

Links to other repositories

OpenDOAR
OpenDOAR is an authoritative directory of academic open access repositories. As well as providing a simple repository list, OpenDOAR lets you search for repositories or search repository contents.

Some books to help you in your research

The books listed below are housed in the E.G. Malherbe Library (Dbn)

Adventures in social research : data analysis using IBM SPSS statistics
Babbie, Earl R.
Constructing a good dissertation : a practical guide to finishing a master's , MBA or PhD on schedule
Hofstee, Erik. 808.02 HOF
Dissertation writing : a research journey
Badenhorst, Cecile. 808.02 BAD
The emerging researcher : nurturing passion, developing skills, producing output
De Gruchy, John W. 001.43 DEG
Handbook for classical research
Schaps, David M. 938.0072 SCH
The Practice of social research
Babbie, Earl R. 300.721 BAB
Practical research : planning and design
Leedy, Paul D.
Research in practice : applied methods for the social sciences
Terre Blanche, Martin J. 300.72 RES
Research writing : breaking the barriers
Badenhorst, Cecile. 808.066 BAD

ResearchSpace

ResearchSpace

Another way of finding theses is to do a search on the library catalogue (OPAC). Theses that have been digitised will have a URL icon - click on this and you will be directed to the full text of the item.

ResearchSpace is the online repository of the University of KwaZulu-Natal. It houses the full text of all new theses issued by the university. In addition, the library is at present involved in a project to digitise all past theses from the university, so many of these are also available full text .

You can go directly to ResearchSpace to search theses by author, title or subject. The link below will take you to theses in the School of Religion, Philosophy and Classics.

UKZN iCatalogue

Databases for theses

Current and completed research
Covers South African research projects in various disciplines including masters and doctoral theses of SA universities and technikons as well as information on research projects from NGOs, the private sector and government departments. All non-English titles of projects are translated into English. Abstracts are included for completed projects from 1988 onwards. The Nexus Database System Division of the National Research Foundation maintains this database.

The following links will direct you to databases of theses / dissertations. In most cases they are not available full text. If found in South Africa, they are sometimes available via interlibrary loans.

DATAD
Database of African Theses and Dissertations contains citations and abstracts for dissertations completed in African universities. To search and access the brief citations, you must first register at the site and then login.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I
A comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day. You will be able to view the first 24 pages of each thesis found here.
Nexus - Current and Completed Research Projects
Although this database is searchable via Current and Completed Research as above, you may go directly to the the Nexus database.This database provides information on approximately 150 000 South African current and completed research projects including theses and dissertations. This source now provides information on all fields of science since 1919. The records of the Union Catalogue of Theses and Dissertations (UCTD) formerly maintained by the Potchefstroom University for CHE are now included. The NAVTECH research projects are included in the database. It also includes abstracts and English titles are given for projects not in English.

Subject Guide

Nonjabulo Ngcobo

Email Me

Subjects: Classics, Cultural & Heritage Tourism, Gender Studies, History, Philosophy, Political studies and Policy and Development, Religious Studies and Theology