Skip to main content
Information Studies books are arranged on the shelves in number order (Dewey system): 020 - 029. Knowledge management can generally be found at 658.4038. Some records management books can be found at 651.5. Please consult the icatalogue for precise locations.
Guide to using World Cat Local icatalogue
Dictionaries and Encyclopaedias Collection
Subject reference material is available in print and electronic format. Print reference works are housed in the Reference library on the ground floor. Go to the ebooks page to identify online materials.
Online Dictionary for Library and Information Science (ODLIS)
ODLIS includes not only the terminology of the various specializations within library science and information studies but also the vocabulary of publishing, printing, binding, the book trade, graphic arts, book history, literature, bibliography, telecommunications, and computer science when, in the author's judgment, a definition might prove helpful to librarians and information specialists in their work. Entries are descriptive, with examples provided in boldface when appropriate. The definitions of terms used in Anglo-American Cataloging Rules follow AACR2 closely and are therefore intended to be prescriptive. The dictionary includes some slang terms and idioms, and a few obsolete terms, often as See references to the term in current use. When the meaning of a term varies according to the field in which it is used, priority is given to the definition that applies within the field with which it is most closely associated.
Oxford English Dictionary
The OED is one of the largest dictionaries in the world and the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language, tracing the use of more than 600,000 words over the last 1,000 years through 3 million quotations. The OED defines:
•how a word has been used
•where it came from
•when it first entered the English language
•how its meaning has changed over time and around the world
Encyclopaedia of Library and Information Sciences, Third Edition
The title of the third edition of the Encyclopedia of Library and Information Sciences ends with the letter “s” because the encyclopedia is not limited to librarianship or information science. In fact, this work is designed to cover a spectrum of related information disciplines, including:
Document and Genre Theory
Library and Information Science
Social Studies of Information
Location of Library collection:
Main Collection (Open Shelf)
Books are available in different formats: print and electronic. Print books can be:
- Borrowed for a limited period
- Books can be loaned across campuses
- Books can be renewed electronically or telephonically or by visiting the Circulation Desk
- Books not on the shelves – can be done by visiting the Circulation Desk to fill in a request or contact email@example.com
- Fines are charged per day, per item for late returns.
For further information on borrowing library materials, click here.
Academic Reserves (AR)
- Consists of recommended and prescribed books in high demand
- Loan period of 2hrs during the day
- Usage only renewable if not wanted by another user
- Fines are charged per item per hour for late returns.
Finding books (print or electronic)
Build your search Using Boolean Operators:
When using and, or, not, or to combine your search terms will narrow or expand your search results.
- Simplest form of searching.
- System match the words typed, not the ideas represented by the words.
- Some are “phrase searches”.
- Truncation -- word stem e.g. creat*
- Results can be by displayed by date or relevance.
Search for e-books using EBSCHOhost and or click on e-books on the library webpage.
Google Books - type in Google books
Reasearch methodology books
Most methodology books can be found at the numbers 001.4 and 300.72 on the top floor. Some of the latest editions of key texts such as those by Babbie and Mouton and Newman are kept in Academic Reserves.
There is a permanent display of methodology books on the ground floor of the Pmb main library.
New methodology books at the Pmb main library
Please note that some methodology books in high demand in the Pmb library have been made available for a 3 day loan rather than placed on Academic Reserves. These 3 day loan books are on the wooden shelf opposite the circulation desk.
Basics of Qualitative Research by
Call Number: 300.72 COR
Publication Date: 2014
Qualitative Inquiry and Research Design by
Call Number: 300.72 CRE
Publication Date: 2017
Doing Triangulation and Mixed Methods by
Call Number: 001.42 DOI
Publication Date: 2018
Mixed Methods Research by
Call Number: 001.42 CLA
Publication Date: 2015
Practical Research by
Call Number: 001,4 LEE
Publication Date: 2018
New print books @ Pmb main library
Managing Knowledge Resources and Records in Modern Organizations by
Call Number: 658.4038 MAN
Publication Date: 2016-12-21
What if a book is not available at UKZN Library?
UKZN Library offers an Interlibrary loan (ILL) facility through which books can be borrowed from other libraries in the country if available. Most times there is no charge for borrowing a book. Copies of journal articles may also be requested and if it cannot be scanned and emailed there is a fee for this.
All ILL requests are done through the issue desk. You can also use the email: firstname.lastname@example.org. If you want to borrow a book from another campus, fill in details in the book at the issue desk. Requests for books not available at UKZN can also be requested via the ILL request button in the catalogue.
On the national system SABINET, the collection SACat indicates what books are in which library in the country.
All information © 2018 University of KwaZulu-Natal. All rights reserved.