Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library opening hours and borrowing items
Library opening hours. Level 1 lockdown measures remain in place
All libraries are open at the following times:
Monday to Sunday: 24/7
Please check the library website as hours change according to lockdown levels and circumstances.
If you wish to get a book you need to request it, a library staff member will find it for you and then let you know when you can fetch it.
- You can now do all requests for items at your home campus, other UKZN campus libraries and interlibrary loans (items not available at UKZN) online from the catalogue using your My Library Account.
- When you search for an item in the catalogue click on its title and on the right hand side of the screen scroll down till you see the red REQUEST tab. Click on that tab and you will then be asked to login to your 'My library account'. When you have done so, you will see your request. You will be asked to indicate which library you are going to pick the item up from. Then click submit. You will be informed when the book is available. If ti is an article you requested, a pdf will be emailed to you.
- If the item does not appear in the catalogue, or you cannot find results for UKZN, from the left hand side of the catalogue screen, choose to search LIBRARIES WORLD WIDE. When you find an item and it is not available, again click on the title of the item, scroll down till you see the red ILL REQUEST tab and click on that. Once again you will need to login to 'my library account' and ensure all details are filled in and then click submit. You will get a reference number you can use to follow up.
- If you cannot find the item at all in the catalogue, you can request it from within your library account. Login to your 'my library account' and click on REQUESTED and then from the right hand side under the red toolbar click on CREATE REQUEST. Choose the form for either a book or an article and complete all the details asked for.
Setting up my library account
LOCKDOWN and the Library
We may be physically closed but we are working from home so feel free to contact us.
Make sure you have Global Protect downloaded to successfully access library resources and enjoy the benefits of the zero rated UKZN links for data.
Current issues in South Africa
Some key UKZN library links
World Cat Local: Search all
A world catalogue facility that includes all the holdings of UKZN libraries , in print and electronic and multimedia. Type in keywords, author, title and once a results list appears you can narrow the results to UKZN as well as by format.
Off campus access
In order to access subscription databases from off campus, you will need to login with your usual lan login details
These are largely journal collections subscribed to by UKZN
An international index to scholarly literature with full text links for those items that are free or subscribed to by UKZN.
WELCOME ! SIYAKWAMUKELA !
The Information Studies Libguide provides information for undergraduates, postgraduates and researchers in the field of Library and information Science. This guide will help with your research, learn from tutorials and find out about services from your library.
Information Studies is taught from the Pietermaritzburg campus. The Information Studies programme sits within the Development cluster of the School of Social Sciences in the College of Humanities.
Basic guide to finding literature in Information Studies
Ranganathan's 5 laws of library science (1931)
Off campus access
Access to databases and journals and iCatalogue full text resources from off campus is via the off campus option. From the 'Resources' option on the black tool bar on the Library's webpage, choose the off campus link from the drop down menu, click on the name of the desired database and enter your university login and password.
All information © 2018 University of KwaZulu-Natal. All rights reserved.