LibGuides: Centre for Communication, Media and Society (CCMS): Books

New Print Books

Books may be borrowed for particular time periods depending on your year of study. They are arranged according to subject matter, using the Dewey Decimal Classification system. The online iCatalogue through the advanced search platform will help you find the books you need.

RENEW YOUR BOOKS ONLINE

STEPS WHEN RENEWING BOOKS

Simply click on the link below and follow the instructions to renewing your books online

Use the Online Oxford English Dictionary!

Oxford English Dictionary (Online)
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words - past and present - from across the English-speaking world. As a historical dictionary, the OED is very different from those of current English, in which the focus is on present-day meanings. You’ll still find these in the OED, but you’ll also find the history of individual words, and of the language - traced through 3 million quotations, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to films scripts and cookery books.

ABOUT THE BOOK COLLECTION (print & electronic)

UKZN Libraries have an extensive collection of print and electronic books. You may borrow items from the print collection using your student or staff card. Electronic books are accessible via the 'Electronic Resources' tab on the library webpage.

BELOW IS A LISTING OF THE VARIOUS CATEGORIES OF THE BOOK COLLECTION

Academic Reserves : Prescribed and recommended books:

Most recent South African texts and copies of prescribed and recommended books are usually kept in the Academic Reserves section of each library. Academic Reserves materials may not be taken out of the library during the day but may be borrowed overnight or for weekends. An advance booking system is available, please consult the AR staff.

General book collection

The general book stock is arranged on the open shelves in Dewey (number) order. Criminology books can be found at 364. You may confirm your borrowing privileges by checking on the library webpage, under the 'general information' tab.

The 'Advanced Search' under the iCatalogue on the Library's website may be used to track the location and availability of an item.

Reference collection : Dictionaries and encyclopedias etc.

Discipline specific dictionaries and encyclopedias and other reference works are available in the libraries. This material is to be used only in the library and is not loanable.

eBooks

The eBook collection is currently being developed to supplement and enhance the print collection. eBooks also facilitate greater access to more library users. Importantly access to the eBook collections can be obtained from the library webpage under the 'electronic resources' tab. However, when you need to access any eBook and you are off-campus, you need to authenticate yourself as a user by logging in from the OFF-CAMPUS page. You will then be able to retrieve all eBooks available on the various databases.

Theses and dissertations

Print and electronic copies of theses are available. Electronic versions of theses can be accessed from the ResearchSpace platform. This is UKZN Library's repository of all submitted theses and dissertations. For more information, please click on the Theses and Dissertations tab at the top of this page

eBooks

Internet, society and culture : communicative practices before and after the internet
The internet has changed the way we communicate and so changed society and culture. Internet, Society, and Culture offers an understanding of this change by examining two case studies of pre and post internet communication. The first case study is of letters sent to and from Australia in 1835-1858 and the second is a study of online gaming. In both case studies, the focus is on the ways communication is created. The result is the definition of two types of communication that are lived simultaneously in the twenty-first century.

The library has a growing collection of electronic books which can be found by searching under the online eBooks tab. Some examples are listed below.

In addition, links are provided to collections of electronic books.

The media student's book
Postcolonial cinema studies
This collection of essays foregrounds the work of filmmakers in theorizing and comparing postcolonial conditions, recasting debates in both cinema and postcolonial studies. Postcolonial cinema is presented, not as a rigid category, but as an optic through which to address questions of postcolonial historiography, geography, subjectivity, and epistemology. Current circumstances of migration and immigration, militarization, economic exploitation, racial and religious conflict, enactments of citizenship, and cultural self-representation have deep roots in colonial/postcolonial/neocolonial histories.
World cinemas, transnational perspectives
The standard analytical category of "national cinema" has increasingly been called into question by the category of the "transnational." This anthology will examine the premises and consequences of the coexistence of these two categories and the parameters of historiographical approaches that cross the borders of nation states. The three sections of the book will cover the geopolitical imaginary, transnational cinematic institutions, and the uneven flow of words and images.
Link to collections of e-books at UKZN
Project Gutenberg
E-texts of books that are out of copyright (published prior to 1923) can be found here.

Key reference works for Media Studies

Reference books

These are books that are not loanable and may only be used in the library, for example, encyclopaedias and dictionaries. They are identified by the

letter 'R' preceding the dewey number on the spine.

Some examples:

Academic Reserves

Prescribed and recommended books in high demand are placed here. A two hour loan period is available in order to provide access by as many people as possible. Material may not be removed from the library but may be borrowed over weekends on Saturday from 3pm and must be returned on Monday by 9am.

Be warned! Late material is subject to heavy fines!

Centre for Communication, Media and Society (CCMS): Books