LibGuides: Religious Studies and Theology: Theses

Theses at UKZN

The Library receives one print and one electronic copy of each doctoral and masters thesis accepted by the University of KwaZulu-Natal.
Print theses are not generally available for loan.
Electronic copies of theses are deposited in ResearchSpace - the online repository of the University of KwaZulu-Natal. It houses the full text of all new theses issued by the university. In addition, the library is at present involved in a project to digitise all past theses from the university, so many of these are also available full text. You can go directly to ResearchSpace to search theses by author, title or subject.
Search on the icatalogue for theses, by author, title or subject. If the thesis is available electronically, the link will be available. Or you may go directly to ResearchSpace below:

Books to help you in your research

Adventures in social research : data analysis using IBM SPSS statistics
Call Number: Dbn: RC 300.285 ADV

The books listed below are available at the E.G. Malherbe Library (Dbn) and the Cecil Renaud Library (Pmb)

Practical research : planning and design
Call Number: Dbn: 001.43 LEE; Pmb: 001.4 LEE
The Routledge Handbook of Research Methods in the Study of Religion
Making sense : a student's guide to research and writing : religious studies
Call Number: Dbn: 200.71 NOR
Research in practice : applied methods for the social sciences
Call Number: Dbn: 300.72 RES; Pmb: 300.72 TER
Classical approaches to the study of religion : aims, methods and theories of research
Call Number: Dbn & Pmb : 200.7 WAA
A guide to writing academic essays in religious studies
Call Number: Dbn 200.71 BRO
Research writing : breaking the barriers
Call Number: Dbn & Pmb: 808.066 BAD

Databases for theses

Most institutions are now digitising theses. If you find a reference to a thesis go to the home isntitution's library website and find the link. Most institutional digital theses sites need to be accessed via Firefox.

The following links will direct you to databases of theses / dissertations. In most cases they are not available full text. If found in South Africa, they are sometimes available via interlibrary loans.

UCTD: Union Catalogue of Theses and Dissertations
This is an index to masters and doctoral theses done in South Africa since 1918. Full text links are generally not available. If you need the full text, go to the library site of the institution through which the thesis was submitted and find the electronic link.
Current and completed research
Covers South African research projects in various disciplines including masters and doctoral theses of SA universities and technikons as well as information on research projects from NGOs, the private sector and government departments. All non-English titles of projects are translated into English. Abstracts are included for completed projects from 1988 onwards. The Nexus Database System Division of the National Research Foundation maintains this database.
DATAD
Database of African Theses and Dissertations contains citations and abstracts for dissertations completed in African universities. To search and access the brief citations, you must first register at the site and then login.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I
A comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day. You will be able to view the first 24 pages of each thesis found here.
Nexus - Current and Completed Research Projects
Although this database is searchable via Current and Completed Research as above, you may go directly to the the Nexus database.This database provides information on approximately 150 000 South African current and completed research projects including theses and dissertations. This source now provides information on all fields of science since 1919. The records of the Union Catalogue of Theses and Dissertations (UCTD) formerly maintained by the Potchefstroom University for CHE are now included. The NAVTECH research projects are included in the database. It also includes abstracts and English titles are given for projects not in English.
Links to theses databases page

Links to other repositories

OpenDOAR
OpenDOAR is an authoritative directory of academic open access repositories. As well as providing a simple repository list, OpenDOAR lets you search for repositories or search repository contents.

Subject Guide

Nonjabulo Ngcobo

Email Me

Subjects: Classics, Cultural & Heritage Tourism, Gender Studies, History, Philosophy, Political studies and Policy and Development, Religious Studies and Theology