LibGuides: Anthropology: Books

iCatalogue

Google Books Search

eBooks

The library has a growing collection of electronic books. Most text books are currently not available electronically but a few are. The iLink catalogue will provide the URL where online access is available.

Some examples of links to collections of electronic books are listed below:

Link to collections of e-books at UKZN
Project Gutenberg
E-texts of books that are out of copyright (published prior to 1923) can be found here.
HSRC Press

Anthropology after Gluckman : the Manchester school, colonial and postcolonial transformations
After ethnos
Using Statistics in the Social and Health Sciences with SPSS and Excel by Martin Lee Abbott
Call Number: ebook 1 online resource
Publication Date: 2016

Reference Books

Academic dictionary of anthropology
Call Number: R 301.2 ACA

Reference Books are useful for providing background information, definitions and quick facts. Examples are encyclopaedias and dictionaries.

Most of UKZN reference books are identified by the letter 'R' preceding the Dewey number on the spine. They are not loanable and may only be used in the library.

Some examples:

Biographical dictionary of social and cultural anthropology
Call Number: R 301.0922 BIO
Companion encyclopedia of anthropology
Call Number: R 301.2 COM
Companion encyclopedia of anthropology (ebook)
Call Number: online resource
Dictionary of concepts in cultural anthropology
Call Number: R 301.2 WIN; 301.2 WIN
Encyclopaedia Britannica
Encyclopedia of cultural anthropology
Call Number: R 301.2 ENC
Oxford English Dictionary

Print and online books: an introduction

Books are a good place to start when searching for information. They often provide a good overview of a subject e.g. textbooks teach the basics of a subject, leaving students to supplement this by wider reading.

UKZN Libraries have an extensive collection of print and electronic books. You may borrow print items from the library using your student card and access electronic books via the Library webpage under 'Resources'. Print books are arranged on the shelves in number order.

Anthropology is one of the most wide-ranging subjects and it is important to use the icatalogue , as your books could be shelved at a range of numbers in the library

Shelf Numbers of Anthropology Books in the E G Malherbe Library

UKZN library books are given shelf numbers according to the Dewey Decimal System - these shelf numbers keep related books together on the shelf by subject. You can follow the numbers to find a family of related books all together on the shelf.

Most of the Anthropology books are located on the 2nd floor of the E G Malherbe Library at Howard College Campus in Durban and Pietermaritzburg. Many of these books are kept in the 300s sequence. The main number for Anthropology in general is 306. However, some of the older ethnography books can be found in the 572 sequence. Archaeology books are in the 913 sequence on the 3rd floor.

Below is a list of some of the most useful shelf numbers for Anthropology:

301		Sociology & anthropology
302		Social interaction
303		Social processes
304		Factors affecting social behaviour
305		Social groups
306		Culture & institutions
307		Communities

361		Social problems & social welfare in general
362		Social welfare problems & services
363		Other social problems & services
364		Criminology
365		Penal & related institutions

370			Education
371			Schools & their activities; special education
372			Elementary education
373			Secondary education
374			Adult education

390			Customs, etiquette & folklore
391			Costume & personal appearance
392			Customs of life cycle & domestic life
393			Death customs
394			General customs
395			Etiquette (Manners)
398				Folklore

572		Ethnography (the older shelf code – older books)

913	Archaeology (sometimes of interest to Anthropologists)

Academic Reserves

Prescribed and recommended books in high demand are placed on Academic Reserves. A two hour loan period is available in order to provide access to as many people as possible. Material may not be removed from the library.

Be warned! Late material is subject to heavy fines!

What if a book is not available at UKZN?

UKZN Library offers an Inter-Library Loan (ILL) facility through which books can be borrowed from other libraries in the country if available. Most times there is no charge for borrowing a book. Copies of journal articles may also be requested and if it cannot be scanned and emailed there is a fee for this.

You can email the relevant ILL office. Please enquire at ill@ukzn.ac.za

On the national system SABINET, the collection SACat indicates what books are in which library in the country.

For more information please consult the following ILL guide:

Inter-Library Loan

New Books

Recommend new books to be ordered by sending the titles to me by e-mail.

Click the link below to view the fortnightly list of new books.