Agriculture: Books

Search for library material onWorldCat

The Librayr catalogue indicates what books have been placed in Academic Reserves. A special section of the catalogue enables you to search the Academic Reserves collection by module name and lecturer.

Academic Reserves material cannot be removed from the library during the day - the day is divided into two hour slots to allow as many users as possible to have access. Items can be borrowed overnight or for weekends (from 3 or 4 pm until 9am the following day or Monday). Items may be booked for use in advance. Ask at the issue desk.

You must produce your student card to be able to borrow items.

Prescribed and recommended books: Academic Reserves

Copies of prescribed and recommended books are often kept in the Academic Reserves sections of the libraries. Academic Reserves materials may not be taken out of the library during the day but may be borrowed overnight or for weekends. An advance booking system is available, please consult the AR staff.

General book stock 

The general book stock is arranged on the open shelves in number order, Agricultural Science is mostly within the 630-639 number ranges and also at the 338's. The 338 range covers economic aspects of agriculture, marketing, trade and food security. Undergraduates may borrow 6 items for a two week period. Books may be renewed if not requested by another borrower. The Library Catalogue on the Library's website may be used to track the location and availability of an item. 

Dictionaries and encyclopedias

Some specialist Agriculture dictionaries and encyclopedias are available in the Life Sciences Library. Below is a list of just a few.

Encyclopedia of biotechnology in agriculture and food by Heldman, Dennis R. 2011.  XR 630 ENC

Encyclopedia of Animal Science by Ullrey, D. 2011. XR 636 ENC

Encyclopedia of Plant and Crop Science by Dekker, M. 2004.  XR 633 GOO

Encyclopedia of Grain Science by Wrigley, C. 2004. XR 664.7 WRI

Encyclopedia of Farm Animal Nutrition by Fuller, MF. 2004. X R 636.0852 FUL

Theses

Please click on the Theses and Dissertations tab at the top of this page

E books

Most text books are currently not available electronically. The iLink catalogue will provide the URL where online access is available.

UKZN Library offers an Interlibrary loan (ILL) facility through which books can be borrowed from other libraries in the country if available. Most times there is no charge for borrowing a book. Copies of journal articles may also be requested and if it cannot be scanned and emailed there is a fee for this. This service is for 3rd year and post graduate students and staff members.

There is an ILL office in each library. Forms are available for filling in or email the relevant ILL office.

On the national system SABINET, the collection SACat indicates what books are in which library in the country.