LibGuides: Media and Culture Studies : Theses

LINKS TO OTHER REPOSITORIES

OpenDOAR
OpenDOAR is an authoritative directory of academic open access repositories. As well as providing a simple repository list, OpenDOAR lets you search for repositories or search repository contents.

DATABASES FOR SOUTH AFRICAN THESES

Current and completed research
Covers South African research projects in various disciplines including masters and doctoral theses of SA universities and technikons as well as information on research projects from NGOs, the private sector and government departments. All non-English titles of projects are translated into English. Abstracts are included for completed projects from 1988 onwards. The Nexus Database System Division of the National Research Foundation maintains this database.

The following links will direct you to databases of theses / dissertations. In most cases they are not available full text. If found in South Africa, they are sometimes available via Google or the home institution.

Nexus - Current and Completed Research Projects
Although this database is searchable via Current and Completed Research as above, you may go directly to the the Nexus database.This database provides information on approximately 150 000 South African current and completed research projects including theses and dissertations. This source now provides information on all fields of science since 1919. The records of the Union Catalogue of Theses and Dissertations (UCTD) formerly maintained by the Potchefstroom University for CHE are now included. The NAVTECH research projects are included in the database. It also includes abstracts and English titles are given for projects not in English.
UCTD - Union catalogue of theses and dissertations
This is the largest index of South African masters and PhD theses since 1918. UCTD is availablee via Sabinet

FINDING UKZN THESES

ResearchSpace

All UKZN theses are listed in the iCatalogue with the link to the full text where it is available.

Printed copies of theses may be kept with the general loanable book collection or in a separate thesis collection. Print theses are arranged on the shelves in Dewey (number) order.

ResearchSpace is the online repository of the University of KwaZulu-Natal. It houses the full text of all new masters and PhD theses produced through the university. In addition, the library is at present involved in a project to digitise all past theses, so many of these are also available full text .

You can go directly to ResearchSpace to search theses by author, title or subject, college, community or discipline.

If you are accessing ResearchSpace from off campus, it is best to use Firefox.

UKZN iCatalogue