LibGuides: Literature in African Languages: Dissertations & theses

Finding UKZN theses

UKZNResearchspace

ResearchSpace is the online repository of the University of KwaZulu-Natal. It houses the full text of all new theses produced by the university's students and staff. In addition, the library is at present involved in a project to digitise all past theses from the university, so many of these are also available full text .

You can go directly to ResearchSpace to search theses by author, title or subject.

Not all theses are yet digitised, this is an ongoing project.

If accessing ResearchSpace from off campus, it is preferable to do so via Firefox.

UniZulu Research space

Searching for electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs) in the UKZN icatalogue

1. Once at WorldCat Local, choose iCatalogue and run a search. When you get a results list, choose the theses option under format from the left hand column of the screen

2. Once at WorldCat Local, choose the iDiscovery option and scroll down to the theses option

Type in subject, author, title, keywords etc in the relevant search boxes

UKZN theses are listed first in the results.

Databases for theses

Current and completed research
Covers South African research projects in various disciplines including masters and doctoral theses of SA universities and technikons as well as information on research projects from NGOs, the private sector and government departments. All non-English titles of projects are translated into English. Abstracts are included for completed projects from 1988 onwards. The Nexus Database System Division of the National Research Foundation maintains this database.

The following links will direct you to databases of theses / dissertations. In most cases they are not available full text. If found in South Africa, they are sometimes available via interlibrary loans.

DATAD
Database of African Theses and Dissertations contains citations and abstracts for dissertations completed in African universities. To search and access the brief citations, you must first register at the site and then login.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I
A comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day. You will be able to view the first 24 pages of each thesis found here.
Nexus - Current and Completed Research Projects
Although this database is searchable via Current and Completed Research as above, you may go directly to the the Nexus database.This database provides information on approximately 150 000 South African current and completed research projects including theses and dissertations. This source now provides information on all fields of science since 1919. The records of the Union Catalogue of Theses and Dissertations (UCTD) formerly maintained by the Potchefstroom University for CHE are now included. The NAVTECH research projects are included in the database. It also includes abstracts and English titles are given for projects not in English.
UCTD (Union Catalogue of Theses and Dissertations)
This collection indexes South African masters and PhD theses since 1918. It is also part of the Nexus collection.

Subject Guide

Jabulile Sibisi - Mshengu

Email Me

Contact:

Cecil Renaud Library, Pietermaritzburg

+27332605942

Subjects: Drama and Performance, Literary and Language Studies, Media studies, Philosophy

Links to other repositories

OpenDOAR
OpenDOAR is an authoritative directory of academic open access repositories. As well as providing a simple repository list, OpenDOAR lets you search for repositories or search repository contents.