If an article you need is not available in our databases, contact your subject librarian and will will do a double check. You can submit an article request to: ill@ukzn.ac.za. This is the inter library loan facility that enables you to get a copy of an article from another library in the country. Be sure to put in FULL details of the item you want; not just a DOI or url. Include your name, department, student number etc.
Most databases that the library subscribes to are available to users from off campus.
From the library's website, under Resources, click on Off campus access from the drop-down menu. You will see a list of databases starting with the icatalogue. When you click on an option, you will first have to authenticate yourself by filling in your UKZN login details.
Access the Library webpage via Firefox or Google Chrome.
Online indexes are databases of bibliographic records. These databases can contain the full text or abstracts of articles, conference papers and more. Databases cover books and other formats, but the primary reason for using an online database is to identify articles in journals and magazines. Important note: databases are either discipline specific or multidisciplinary. Sabinet is unusual in that it is country specific: it reflects South African publications. It is important for you as the researcher to establish which databases best suit your field of study.
Searching the databases:
The library's catalogue lists details of all the online articles that appear in databases UKZN subscribes to, with links to full text.
Sabinet is a collection of South African publications including some South African journal collections. The two large journal collections are: Index to SA Periodicals - an index only; and South African journals (SA e publications) which is a subset containing articles from those journals that are available full text.
