Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Political Studies and Policy and Development Studies: Home

LOCKDOWN and the library

LIBRARY OPENING HOURS

From 22 March all libraries will be open 24 / 7.

Libraries will still close between 12 and 1 for sanitising.

 

  • If you have a permit to get onto campus you can use the libraries; make sure you have your student card - and wear a mask at all times!
  • If a book is on academic reserves you can only use it in the library and for a 2 hour period
  • If you need to borrow or use a book from the top floor, please email a request for the library staff to fetch it for you - librarypmb@ukzn.ac.za or set up a My Library Account

Politics and Policy and Development Studies

Political Studies, Peace Studies and Policy and Development Studies (PODS) (Pmb campus) fall under the School of Social Studies

   Image result for politics pictures

 Useful links @ UKZN

UKZN website   

UKZN staff portal    

UKZN student portal

UKZN Library website  

Off campus access to e resources

Moodle (Learn@UKZN   

UKZN student email set up

ICS website

2021 academic calendar

 

 

>

UKZN library collections via the catalogue

What is available at UKZN in terms of books, journals, theses, AV materials etc can now be found in the online library system called World Cat Local. The search boxes are located in the middle of the Library's main website page.

In the 'icatalogue' search box type your search words and when you get a results list, narrow your search by reference type (called formats on the left hand side). UKZN results show up first.

Search the catalog:

Off campus access

The Writing Place

The Writing Place (Pmb)

Do you need help with your academic writing?

Do you have an essay/project/assignment due?

Are you having difficulty with your tutorials?

If you answered yes to any of these questions then the Writing Place is for you!!

If you would like to book a session with a tutor, or for further enquiries, contact Stella Sabi: stellasabi@yahoo.co.uk (Pmb campus)

WELCOME! SIYAKWAMUKELA!

This support page provides information for undergraduates, graduates and researchers in general in the fields of politics and policy and development studies. This guide introduces you to the different information resources and associated activities in the academic environment.

 Where are we?

Politics is taught on the Pietermaritzburg and Howard College campuses. Policy and Development Studies is unique to the Pietermaritzburg campus and offers post-graduate qualifications only. Each campus has a physical library where relevant books, journals, theses and other resources can be located. Online access is available on and off campus to a wide range of resources.

For off campus access you will need to authenticate yourself first with your university lan login and password. Not all databases provide off campus access. It is best to access the University site via Firefox or Chrome.

Library news: hours, access and off campus access

OFF CAMPUS ACCESS

From 'Resources' on the red toolbar on the Library's webpage, choose the option from the drop down menu called 'off campus access'. Put in your university login details. Click on the name of a database or catalogue, You must have Global Protect installed.

 PHYSICAL ACCESS TO THE LIBRARIES

 All staff and students are now required to produce their staff/student card to enter the library as a swipe card system has been installed. Your card will only work on the campus that you are registered. If you wish to use another campus library or have problems with your card, please see Risk Management Services  for assistance.


 TERM TIME HOURS

DUE TO COVID RESTRICTIONS THE LIBRARY HOURS ARE REDUCED. There is also no browsing in the book shelves. request a book online by clicking the REQUEST tab in a catalogue record and completing process on your my library account. Or use one of the following emails: 

Howard college: libraryhc@ukzn.ac.za;

Pietermaritzburg: librarypmb@ukzn.ac.za

Westville: librarywestville@ukzn.ac.za

Edgewood: libraryedgewood@ukzn.ac.za

Medical school library: librarymedical@ukzn.ac.za

 

 

Google scholar

Not sure where to go to find journal articles and other scholarly materials? Try Google Scholar. Not everything will be available full text however.

Some tips for using GS:

  • Don't type in your whole assignment topic - analyse the assignment and identify the main topic. Type in the topic words
  • If you have a multi-word topic such as multi-party democracy, type it in double inverted commas: "multi-party democracy" for a more accurate search.
  • Use AND to link topics eg "multi-party democracy" and "south africa"

Click on the Journals or Databases tabs above for more options and information about journals.

Google Scholar Search

Resource Collections

  • All Search: Your Gateway to Primary Sources

             https://infoweb.newsbank.com/apps/readex/welcome?p=ARDX

  • Search seamlessly across your Rand Daily Mail and African Newspapers: The British Library Collection.
  • African Newspapers: The British Library Collection, 1821 - 1900

               https://infoweb.newsbank.com/apps/readex/?p=HN-BPLAN1

  • Rare newspapers from throughout Africa published during the 19th century.
  • Historical and Current South African News Sources:

             https://infoweb.newsbank.com/apps/news/?p=WORLDNEWS

  • Rand Daily Mail (Johannesburg, South Africa), 1902-1985
  • Sunday Times, The (Johannesburg, South Africa), 1906 – 2019
  • Sowetan (Johannesburg, South Africa), 1981 – 2019
  •  Rand Daily Mail, 1902-1985

             https://infoweb.newsbank.com/apps/readex/?p=HN-SARDM

  • The Rand Daily Mail is renowned today for being the first newspaper to openly oppose apartheid and contribute to its downfall. Explore deep coverage from the Boer Wars to the Apartheid Era.
  • Sowetan, 1981 – 2019, Johannesburg, South Africa

              https://infoweb.newsbank.com/apps/news/browse-pub?p=WORLDNEWS&t=pubname%3A16ED7C83114D199A!Sowetan

  •   Sunday Times Archive, 1906 – 2019, Johannesburg, South Africa

               https://infoweb.newsbank.com/apps/news/browse-pub?p=WORLDNEWS&t=pubname%3A16ED7D43CFB7D6F4!Sunday%2BTimes

 

All information © 2018 University of KwaZulu-Natal. All rights reserved.