Skip to main content

Anthropology: Dissertations & Theses

Dissertations & Theses: an Introduction

   

 

 

 

 

A thesis or dissertation is a final long essay involving personal research written by a candidate for a higher degree. Generally, a thesis is the final project for the Masters degree and a dissertation leads to a PhD or doctoral degree.

Theses / dissertations can be a valuable source of information, especially for postgraduate students, who need to know what previous research has been done in their field of study, and who want to see examples of theses to help them prepare their own work.

Anthropology Theses Added to UKZN ResearchSpace

Finding UKZN Print and Electronic Theses / Dissertations

Print Theses / Dissertations
Search the iCatalogue for UKZN theses. On the Advanced search page, select Item Category and narrow your search to thesis / dissertation. If the thesis is also available online, there will be a URL link.
 

Electronic Theses / Dissertations

Most of UKZN theses & dissertations (Masters and PhD) are available online.They can be accessed via the iCatalogue, as explained above, or go directly to ResearchSpace.
 
ResearchSpace 
ResearchSpace is UKZN's online institutional repository. It houses the full text of digitised  theses and dissertations undertaken at this university.
You can go directly to ResearchSpace to search by author, title or subject.

Databases for theses

 

Google Scholar Logo

Theses and dissertations can also be found by using Google Scholar.

 
The following links will direct you to databases of theses / dissertations.
 
 
 UCTD (Union Catalogue of Dissertations and Theses) via SABINET provides an index to all Masters and PhD theses completed in South Africa since 1918. This is the most comprehensive index to South African theses.

Current and Completed Research Covers South African research projects in various disciplines including masters and doctoral theses of SA universities and technikons as well as information on research projects from NGOs, the private sector and government departments.

Nexus - Current and Completed Research Projects is searchable via Current and Completed Research as above. However, you may also go directly to the the Nexus database.

Links to other Repositories

OpenDOAR is an authoritative directory of academic open access repositories. As well as providing a simple repository list, OpenDOAR lets you search for repositories or search repository contents.

South African Institutional Repositories / Archives

All information © 2018 University of KwaZulu-Natal. All rights reserved.