Pmb past exam papers
Publishing and research visibility
This is the "Home" page of the "Information Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Information Studies   Tags: libraryscience, research methods  

Useful books for Information Studies
Last Updated: Oct 30, 2017 URL: http://libguides.ukzn.ac.za/content.php?pid=470267 Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Current issues in South Africa

Current issues in South Africa

1. Vat on digital media will affect library purchasing power

2. Protection of State Information bill B 6D 2010

 3. SOUTH AFRICA: Bill is a threat to democracy, research

4. Copyright Amendment Bill B 13 - 2017

 

<

Some key UKZN library links

  • World Cat Local: Search all
    A world catalogue facility that includes all the holdings of UKZN libraries , in print and electronic and multimedia. Type in keywords, author, title and once a results list appears you can narrow the results to UKZN as well as by format.
  • Off campus access
    In order to access subscription databases from off campus, you will need to login with your usual lan login details
  • Databases
    These are largely journal collections subscribed to by UKZN
  • GoogleScholar
    An international index to scholarly literature with full text links for those items that are free or subscribed to by UKZN.
 

Off campus access

Access to databases and journals and iCatalogue full text resources from off campus is via the EZPROXY option. From the 'Electronic resources' option on the Library's webpage, choose the EZPROXY option, click on the name of the desired database and enter your university login and password.

     

    WELCOME ! SIYAKWAMUKELA !

    The Information Studies Libguide  provides information for undergraduates, postgraduates and researchers in the field of Library and information Science. This guide will help with your research, learn from tutorials and find out about  services from your library.

    Information Studies is taught from the Pietermaritzburg campus. The Information Studies programme sits within the Development cluster of the School of Social Sciences in the College of Humanities.

       

      Basic guide to finding literature in Information Studies

       

      Ranganathan's 5 laws of library science (1931)

       

      Youtube: Evaluating information sources

      Subject librarian

      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip