Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Digital Arts: Books

What if a book is not available at UKZN?

      

UKZN Library offers an Interlibrary loan (ILL) facility through which books can be borrowed from other libraries at UKZN and in the country if available. Most times there is no charge for borrowing a book. Copies of journal articles may also be requested and if it cannot be scanned and emailed there is a fee for this.

You can ask the Circulation desk staff to help you or a subject librarian; you can send your request to: ill@ukzn.ac.za or, under the tab 'Library accounts' on the far right of the library webpage, click on Inter library loans. You need to set up an account.

On the national system SABINET, the collection SACat indicates what books and print journals are in which library in the country.

Free E-Book collections

Free E-Book collection

The library has a growing collection of electronic books. E books are listed in the catalogue with a clickable link. There are also a number of free ebook services which can be found by searching under the online Free E-book option at the bottom of the library home page.

Some examples of ebooks are listed below:

Frames of Anime: Culture and Image Building

Character Animation Crash Course!

Convergence culture : where old and new media collide

The Anime' Art of Hayao Miyazaki

Between the Black box and the White Cube : Expanded cinema and postwar art

New collecting exhibiting and audience after new media

 

HOW TO FIND PRINT AND ONLINE BOOKS AT UKZN

You need to use the ICatalogue (World Cat Local). Our Catalogue will show you everything that UKZN owns or has access to online. For printed books, once you have located the item on the catalogue, take down the Dewey/shelf number, collect the item from the shelf,  take it, together with your student/staff card to the Circulation desk to have it issued out on your name. The length of time you may borrow a book for depends on your year of study or academic status.

An online book will have a 'view full text' clickable link in the catalogue record which will take you to the platform where the book is kept.

Click here for borrowing information

 

BOOK COLLECTION (print & electronic)

UKZN Libraries have an extensive collection of print and electronic books. You may borrow items from the print collection using your student or staff card.  Electronic books are accessible via the 'Ebooks' tab as well as the icatalogue on the library webpage.

BELOW IS A LISTING OF THE VARIOUS CATEGORIES OF THE BOOK COLLECTION

  • Academic Reserves : Prescribed and recommended books:

Most recent South African texts and copies of prescribed and recommended books are usually kept in the Academic Reserves (AR) section of each library.  Academic Reserves materials may not be taken out of the library at all. An advance booking system is available, please consult the AR staff. Some of these books may be available online. The catalogue record for an ebook will have a clickable 'view full text' button to take you to where the book is housed online.

  • General book collection

The general book stock is arranged on the open shelves in Dewey (number) order.  You may confirm your borrowing privileges by checking on the library webpage, under the 'general information' tab.

The 'Advanced Search' under the Search on the Library's website may be used to track the location and availability of an item and refine by format of document etc.

  • Reference collection : Dictionaries and encyclopedias etc.

Discipline specific dictionaries and encyclopedias and other reference works are available in the libraries. This material is to be used only in the library and is not loanable.

  • eBooks

The eBook collection is currently being developed to supplement and enhance the print collection.  eBooks also facilitate greater access to more library users.  Importantly, access to the eBook collections can be obtained from the library webpage under the eBook tab as well as iCatalogue. However, when you need to access any eBook and you are off-campus, you need to authenticate yourself as a user by logging in from the OFF-CAMPUS  page.  You will then be able to retrieve all eBooks available on the various databases. Note that the number of persons who can access a book at the same time varies as well as the options to download, print, email, save pages etc. The home screen for any ebook will provide all this information. If a book is in use, you may be able to place a hold to be notified when the book becomes available.

  • Theses and dissertations

Print and electronic copies of theses (masters and PhDs) undertaken at UKZN are available. Electronic versions of theses can be accessed from the ResearchSpace platform. This is UKZN Library's repository of all submitted theses and dissertations.  For more information, please click on the Theses and Dissertations tab at the top of this page

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Jabulile Sibisi - Mshengu
Contact:
Cecil Renaud Library, Pietermaritzburg
+27332605942
Website
All information © 2018 University of KwaZulu-Natal. All rights reserved.